Smiffy
Grand Slam Winner
Can usually play 18 holes without any rules queries rearing their ugly heads, but played yesterday with 2 mates and on three seperate occasions something happened to make us scratch our heads...
1st hole, par 4. My mate Ray had messed up his drive and second shot, and had to hit a high recovery lob over some trees to try to get on the green. He hit his shot ok, went up nice and high, ball came down just short of the green and embedded itself in it's own pitchmark.
Ray went to mark his ball, pick it up and clean it, but both Khalid (my other mate) and myself were certain that he could only do that if winter rules were in place......
8th hole, par 4. I hit a superb drive, only left myself a flick with a 9 iron in. Planned to play it short and let it bounce on, ball took a wicked hop to the right and ended up in some really deep grass just off the green. It was one of those horrible chips where you literally had to just get the ball moving, and I said to Sam before I played it "I'm either going to thin this out the bloody back or flub it".
Sure enough I flubbed it, the ball just popped up a little but I incurred a "double hit"...something I had never done before. I didn't know if it was a penalty or not, but I counted it as two shots anyway. Have since found out that it was a penalty so I was right in counting two shots, but what I didn't know was that it doesn't matter how many times you accidently hit it, could be a "quadruple hit", but you only incur one penalty shot.
18th hole. Long par 4. Ray had hit a really good drive and was lying in the middle of the fairway. My turn, and I absolutely creamed one. Possibly the best drive I'd hit all day. Long and straight down the middle, it hit the deck and was running really fast until it clattered into Rays ball head on and cannoned off to the right into the semi rough.
I knew my ball had to stay where it was, but unsure on the situation regarding Rays ball. I know that if we had been on the green his would have been replaced as near to the spot where the collision occured, but we all thought that because this had happened on the fairway, it was just down to "rub of the green" and we carried on and played the balls as they lay. Have since found out that this was wrong too, and his ball should have been replaced without penalty.
I was a bit peeved off because my ball ended up a good 15 yards in front of Rays ball anyway, but would have been a lot further on had they not collided....
So a really weird round. Three rules infringements in the same game. And the correct answers to all of them weren't known by any of us......
1st hole, par 4. My mate Ray had messed up his drive and second shot, and had to hit a high recovery lob over some trees to try to get on the green. He hit his shot ok, went up nice and high, ball came down just short of the green and embedded itself in it's own pitchmark.
Ray went to mark his ball, pick it up and clean it, but both Khalid (my other mate) and myself were certain that he could only do that if winter rules were in place......

8th hole, par 4. I hit a superb drive, only left myself a flick with a 9 iron in. Planned to play it short and let it bounce on, ball took a wicked hop to the right and ended up in some really deep grass just off the green. It was one of those horrible chips where you literally had to just get the ball moving, and I said to Sam before I played it "I'm either going to thin this out the bloody back or flub it".
Sure enough I flubbed it, the ball just popped up a little but I incurred a "double hit"...something I had never done before. I didn't know if it was a penalty or not, but I counted it as two shots anyway. Have since found out that it was a penalty so I was right in counting two shots, but what I didn't know was that it doesn't matter how many times you accidently hit it, could be a "quadruple hit", but you only incur one penalty shot.
18th hole. Long par 4. Ray had hit a really good drive and was lying in the middle of the fairway. My turn, and I absolutely creamed one. Possibly the best drive I'd hit all day. Long and straight down the middle, it hit the deck and was running really fast until it clattered into Rays ball head on and cannoned off to the right into the semi rough.
I knew my ball had to stay where it was, but unsure on the situation regarding Rays ball. I know that if we had been on the green his would have been replaced as near to the spot where the collision occured, but we all thought that because this had happened on the fairway, it was just down to "rub of the green" and we carried on and played the balls as they lay. Have since found out that this was wrong too, and his ball should have been replaced without penalty.
I was a bit peeved off because my ball ended up a good 15 yards in front of Rays ball anyway, but would have been a lot further on had they not collided....

So a really weird round. Three rules infringements in the same game. And the correct answers to all of them weren't known by any of us......
