Weight Transfer Absent, help!

jimmusuk

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi,

I am just learning golf, usually go round in 31-36 over par. I find that my tee shots with a 1 wood, 3 wood or 3 hybrid always fly too high and often right. I've now totally abandoned the 1 wood and bring the 3 wood out only on wide fairway holes.

I noticed on the range today that my weight tends to stay on my back foot, sometimes even going from back to front then to back again in the same swing. I believe this is the cause for the ball flying so high and slicing off to the right.

Does anyone have any tips on improving weight transfer and/or confirming 100% that this is my problem? I am planning to book my first lesson this week but have been trying to root out all problems via self diagnosis and resolution before paying money for someone to do this for me.

Thanks
jim

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Jim

The simple answer is don't panic and let the pro talk you through it. It's like anything, you need t have the right foundations to build upon. Once the pro has your grip (which could also be a cause of the slice) and the stance sorted then you can start to work on the mechanics.

Relax and work on any drills he gives you. At least you are starting with a relatively blank canvass and so won't have too many bad habits to break. Enjoy the learning process and the wasy the scores will start to tumble

jimmusuk

Medal Winner
Visit site
Thanks for taking the time to reply dude.

I was kind of hoping to iron out any obvious problems before spending money on lessons in which I will be told what I already know. I am definately not tranferring weight correctly and gripping the club way too hard.

I suppose it would just be easier for a pro to literally walk me through fixes but if anyone does have any tips I have several evenings worth of driving range time to fix any problems before the first lesson.

Cheers

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site