super hans
Assistant Pro
played in a medal yesterday with two brothers.
playing at a par 3 I put my tee shot on the green and they both put theirs in the left semi rough.
as we walk up to the green they both park their trollies on the right side of the green (near to the next tee) and take a wedge and putter over to their balls.
as it turns out one had taken a 50* and one had taken a 54*.
when they get to their balls brother A decides he would rather use a 54, so asks brother B for his wedge. brother B obliges and motions to me that he's giving his brother his club. right away I say youre not allowed to do that.
to which he replies "its just to save time - we have an identical wedge set up". I let them get on with the hole and when we putt out we go over to the bags and the show me their wedges and they do indeed have identical wedges - same lofts, same shafts, same bounce.
turns out they had bought them in the same shop at the same time, and they have done this once or twice in the past during medals, but very rarely, and only to save time and only where the wedges are concerned
now im pretty sure they've still broken a rule, but they both took 4 at the hole and that's what went down on their scorecard.
what should happen in this instance
playing at a par 3 I put my tee shot on the green and they both put theirs in the left semi rough.
as we walk up to the green they both park their trollies on the right side of the green (near to the next tee) and take a wedge and putter over to their balls.
as it turns out one had taken a 50* and one had taken a 54*.
when they get to their balls brother A decides he would rather use a 54, so asks brother B for his wedge. brother B obliges and motions to me that he's giving his brother his club. right away I say youre not allowed to do that.
to which he replies "its just to save time - we have an identical wedge set up". I let them get on with the hole and when we putt out we go over to the bags and the show me their wedges and they do indeed have identical wedges - same lofts, same shafts, same bounce.
turns out they had bought them in the same shop at the same time, and they have done this once or twice in the past during medals, but very rarely, and only to save time and only where the wedges are concerned
now im pretty sure they've still broken a rule, but they both took 4 at the hole and that's what went down on their scorecard.
what should happen in this instance