chrisd
Major Champion
You can declare a ball unplayable sitting on the green if you so wish and play from where you last hit!
You should have hit the second ball and not called it a provisional
Call it what then if its not a provisional , a mulligan ?
Someone already has.No, can you explain why im wrong.
Depending on exactly what you said, you may in trouble for giving advice.
Oh for sure. It was just a knock about.
Oh for sure. It was just a knock about.
Save the hassle and just declare it lost! Easy
And what rules are used in 'Knock about' Golf?
........ But something not otherwise covered (but the 20-5 does)...Because you are playing from the Tee, you can play from anywhere in the 'teeing ground' and may (or need not) be tee-ed. If tee-ed, it can be at a different height to before - something there is occasional mythical confusion about.
For the umpteenth time: You can`t declare a ball lost!!!![]()
But we've now established you can declare it unplayable without finding it which is effectively the same thing using different terminology.
Sticking a second ball into play without declaring it as a provisional is effectively declaring a ball lost.
But we've now established you can declare it unplayable without finding it which is effectively the same thing using different terminology.
No it isn't. Duncan has covered why but here's the same in a different way. Maybe between us we'll make it clearer!
Maybe you should re-read how, within the Rules, a ball is lost. Take another look at the precise circumstances detailed in the Definition. Maybe you missed what I said earlier that the unseen ball that you deemed unplayable is not in this context lost until you put another ball into play. Up to that point the original ball is in play whether you have seen it or not. You could change your mind , find it in good time and play it - and playing it includes the possibility of deeming it unplayable but this time having all three options under Rule 28 available to you.
I was unaware that I was proceeding under rule 28 unplayable ball at the time.
You were actually (literally) proceeding under 27-1a. You will see that 28a simply refers you to 27-1a
27-1a At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
28a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played
So whatever the numbers what i was doing was right which is the main thing.