two rules questions please

hovis

Tour Winner
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
6,266
Visit site
a player finds his ball amongst lots of leaves. when taking his stance he brushes the leafs aside under both of his feet so he is standing on the grass and not the loose leafs. is this "fairly taking a stance"?

a ball is plugged in the sand and not visible. i know a player can remove enough sand to identify his ball but I'm confused if all or some of the sand has to be replaced? when not in a hazard i know you can leave a small part of the ball showing but not sure in a hazard?
 
a player finds his ball amongst lots of leaves. when taking his stance he brushes the leafs aside under both of his feet so he is standing on the grass and not the loose leafs. is this "fairly taking a stance"?

a ball is plugged in the sand and not visible. i know a player can remove enough sand to identify his ball but I'm confused if all or some of the sand has to be replaced? when not in a hazard i know you can leave a small part of the ball showing but not sure in a hazard?
Screenshot_2017-04-16-10-47-26.jpg
 
Leaves are defined as loose impediments so can be moved.

this came up recently when i was in this position. he thought i was playing in the comp. first i knew was when someone from his group told me the next day he reported me to the secretary. (i guess the jokes on him)

when i caught up with him he was adamant that although leaves can be removed to play your shot they cant all be removed under your feet as this counts as improving your stance.!!!! it was news to me,
 
imagine there was a fallen branch where you wanted to make your stance, you would move that. Both lose branches and leaves are loose impediments.
 
this came up recently when i was in this position. he thought i was playing in the comp. first i knew was when someone from his group told me the next day he reported me to the secretary. (i guess the jokes on him)

when i caught up with him he was adamant that although leaves can be removed to play your shot they cant all be removed under your feet as this counts as improving your stance.!!!! it was news to me,

another one for the collection...

i wonder on a given weekend how many golfers fall foul of a made up rules or gain advantage from them too..
 
although leaves can be removed to play your shot they cant all be removed under your feet as this counts as improving your stance.!!!! it was news to me,

23-1. Relief

Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, any loose impediment may be removed without penalty.

There is no restriction or condition on the removal of a LI except what appears in the rule. In this case, the only restriction arises when the ball and LI are both in a hazard.

What the rules do not prohibit, they permit.

Next time an "expert" tells you the rules don't allow something, ask them to show you where.
 
Last edited:
Top