The beginners obsession with the driver?

Lost_Cause

Visit site
Maybe it just me, but I can’t help but notice the beginners obsession with the driver. Be it at the driving range and you see someone with all new clubs/package set, the driver comes out first or if you look on any of the big Facebook groups for buy/sell/swap it’s always full of “I’ve just started golf last week, need a cheap driver”, or even here and people just starting out and asking for bag building advice where they usually stipulate “I need a driver, irons and putter”. You then watch them hit, or should I say attempt to hit it and it’s comedy gold, like something you’d see on you’ve been framed, if they do manage to connect with the ball it’s never straight, and arguably not long either, sure everyone has to learn to hit it at some point (or do they?) but why does it seem to be the club that everyone is obsessed with?

I only started playing back at the start of this year and my beginner set driver never left the bag, since then I’ve upgraded and the new driver currently resides in my garage and hasn’t seen the course (tbh I could have saved myself some money and excluded it from my purchase from the pro shop). I watch my friends step up to the tee, and the big gun comes out, 3 balls into the trees later they concede, tee up the 4th ball and hit a 3 wood/4 iron and score a lovely 9-10 for the hole... the worst part is they don’t seem to learn from this and on the next tee box out comes the driver again (if you are adamant in using it, at least get some lessons and learn to hit it... at least that’s what runs through my head each time).

Has anyone else noticed this “I need a driver” phenomenon with beginner golfers and why do you think it’s such a prevalent thing within the beginner mentally when first starting with golf?

Crow

Crow Person
Visit site
Distance has always been an obsession in golf, but much more now than ever before.

Which club (theoretically) hits the ball the furthest?