Teeing off from wrong tees.

Shame you manage to get that wrong....think about it a little more.

In what way is it wrong? I once accidentally teed off the ladies tee in an away match. One of my opponents was a county rules official and explained it in some detail to me. That was only 3 or 4 years ago and I don't think the rules have changed significantly since. You are always allowed to put another ball into play under stroke and distance penalty under rule 27-1, although I suppose if the shot was not recalled you would have to drop on the wrong tee.
 
I may be wrong but the way i read this your playing partner has stood and watched you play from the wrong tee and not said anything until after you have played your shot and then commented on it.

I didn't add, that the guy who mentioned it was having a slash in the halfway house as I was preparing and teeing off, (he's a bit of a flapper so takes ages to prepare) and he seen me tee off as he walked out and mentioned it.
 
In what way is it wrong? ....... although I suppose if the shot was not recalled you would have to drop on the wrong tee.

There you go, a little more thought and you can work it all out for yourself.

I have no idea what your county rules official opponent explained to you as I wasn't there, and it was probably about as relevant as your post to this thread - much more interesting is that you teed off the ladies tee in a match and no-one initially noticed.
 
There you go, a little more thought and you can work it all out for yourself.

I have no idea what your county rules official opponent explained to you as I wasn't there, and it was probably about as relevant as your post to this thread - much more interesting is that you teed off the ladies tee in a match and no-one initially noticed.
It seems a bit illogical to me that in strokeplay you have to correct a teeing off error, but in Matchplay you are not allowed to without the consent of an opponent, even with added penalty strokes!
 
Last edited:
Shame you manage to get that wrong....think about it a little more.

Actually....He was correct - if perhaps unintentionally! :whistle:

In what way is it wrong? I once accidentally teed off the ladies tee in an away match. One of my opponents was a county rules official and explained it in some detail to me. That was only 3 or 4 years ago and I don't think the rules have changed significantly since. You are always allowed to put another ball into play under stroke and distance penalty under rule 27-1, although I suppose if the shot was not recalled you would have to drop on the wrong tee.

It seems a bit illogical to me that in strokeplay you have to correct a teeing off error, but in Matchplay you are not allowed to without the consent of an opponent, even with added penalty strokes!

But normality has been restored! :rolleyes: :rofl:
 
Last edited:
Is there any possibility that where you played from was also within the yellow teeing ground?

For that to apply, the white tee markers would have to be more or less in line with the yellow markers and not more than 2 club lengths behind them. And you would still have to tee off from within the defined yellow teeing area.

You're almost but not quite right. Although you would expect the white tee markers to be directly behind the yellow creating two rectangular teeing grounds the sides of which are in line, it would not have to be so. The rectangles could be offset but with some overlap. Also, the white markers would have to less than 2 club lengths behind the yellow. If they were 2 club lengths behind there would be no overlap of the teeing grounds.
 
You're almost but not quite right. Although you would expect the white tee markers to be directly behind the yellow creating two rectangular teeing grounds the sides of which are in line, it would not have to be so. The rectangles could be offset but with some overlap. Also, the white markers would have to less than 2 club lengths behind the yellow. If they were 2 club lengths behind there would be no overlap of the teeing grounds.

Point already covered perfectly in post #17. 😀
 
You have lost me completely.

In what way was he correct in the post I labelled wrong?

He explained in Post 21... You always have the option of 27-1 - 'Replaying under Stroke and Distance', in this case (also) from the correct tee! Then, of course.....normality! :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
He explained in Post 21... You always have the option of 27-1 - 'Replaying under Stroke and Distance', in this case (also) from the correct tee! Then, of course.....normality! :rolleyes:

But you do not play under 27-1 "from the correct tee" - this is incorrect.

You drop the ball as close as possible to where the last shot was played from. Despite in this case being played from a teeing ground, you are not on 'the teeing ground' and cannot re- tee the ball ( or place it where you choose within he confines of this teeing ground).
 
The same point indeed, but not explicitly pointing out where you were wrong.

Suggest you read the definition of 'teeing ground'. To be outside the teeing ground all of the ball has to lie outside it. So exactly two club lengths back from the markers is still in!
 
Last edited:
Suggest you read the definition of 'teeing ground'. To be outside the teeing ground all of the ball has to lie outside it. So exactly two club lengths back from the markers is still in!
Del......I'd quit while you're behind......or buy a bigger shovel!
 
Del......I'd quit while you're behind......or buy a bigger shovel!

Let's not be hasty. That's a neat point Del is making. If the white teeing ground is contiguous with a yellow teeing ground in front of it exactly two club lengths deep, then a ball placed or teed on that line will overhang both teeing grounds.
 
Let's not be hasty. That's a neat point Del is making. If the white teeing ground is contiguous with a yellow teeing ground in front of it exactly two club lengths deep, then a ball placed or teed on that line will overhang both teeing grounds.
Don't spoil it now Colin! :rofl:
 
Question - Is that it, or, is it with my while nipping out to Lidl for a new bag of popcorn ? This could fill the void left by the lack of tv football today 😉
 
But you do not play under 27-1 "from the correct tee" - this is incorrect.

You drop the ball as close as possible to where the last shot was played from. Despite in this case being played from a teeing ground, you are not on 'the teeing ground' and cannot re- tee the ball ( or place it where you choose within he confines of this teeing ground).

I see your point. But the 27-1 refers to 20-5('Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made) specifies 'On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground. It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.' As the Teeing Ground has to be the correct one,.....

Call that a 'half'! :whistle:
 
Last edited:
Top