Stroke & Distance Rule.

oltimer

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
313
Visit site
Could one when applying the above rule drop it on a wrong putting green or gur then take the appropriate free relief from there ?
 
Yes. The only requirements regarding the relief area for stroke and distance is that it is in the general area and must not be nearer the hole. 14.6

Another example of new opportunities created by a relief area rather than dropping on a spot.
 
Last edited:
Am I missing something here. Stroke and distance means going back and playing your next stroke from where you played your last. Given that you cannot play from a wrong green how can you be dropping on a wrong green?
 
Am I missing something here. Stroke and distance means going back and playing your next stroke from where you played your last. Given that you cannot play from a wrong green how can you be dropping on a wrong green?
sorry was thinking of something else when typing.
 
Am I missing something here. Stroke and distance means going back and playing your next stroke from where you played your last. Given that you cannot play from a wrong green how can you be dropping on a wrong green?

I answered Oltimer's question as a situation which could arise. You play a shot just beside a wrong green but without any interference from it and your ball goes out of bounds. You must drop in and play from a relief area measured one club-length and not nearer the hole from the reference point which is the spot from which you last played. Part
of that relief area could be on the wrong green.
 
I answered Oltimer's question as a situation which could arise. You play a shot just beside a wrong green but without any interference from it and your ball goes out of bounds. You must drop in and play from a relief area measured one club-length and not nearer the hole from the reference point which is the spot from which you last played. Part
of that relief area could be on the wrong green.
what I was (not very well) asking was - declaring a ball unplayable and going back as far as wished can you now drop the ball on a wrong green or in gur then take free relief at np.
 
You can, but for the life of me I can't think of a reason why you would want to? Especially in respectof a wrong green as your "line back" have to be on or cross the fringe (on which you'd almost certainly end up when taking the relief).
 
I assume you're getting at something similar to what Jordan Speith did in the 2017 Open; dropped on line with his unplayable ball then took free relief from the tour trucks.

I can see how it could open up a better angle and/or lie than being restricted to dropping back on line, although I understand the point that the NPR from the green may well also be on the line you could have dropped on.
 
Am probably wrong but thought the old rules always said "not on a green" and could not find this in the current rules, could be that the npr off wrong green was in gur and the npr from this was on a fairway, highly improbable but just seeking confirmation from experts whether one could now drop on to a green.
 
Am probably wrong but thought the old rules always said "not on a green" and could not find this in the current rules, could be that the npr off wrong green was in gur and the npr from this was on a fairway, highly improbable but just seeking confirmation from experts whether one could now drop on to a green.
The previous Rules did not have such a restriction as "not on a green", so you can still drop it on a green and proceed accordingly.
 
Am probably wrong but thought the old rules always said "not on a green" and could not find this in the current rules, could be that the npr off wrong green was in gur and the npr from this was on a fairway, highly improbable but just seeking confirmation from experts whether one could now drop on to a green.
You will find restrictions in the new rules as to where a relief area can be. For example you can drop anywhere on the course when taking relief for an unplayable ball that is lying on the putting green or in the general area. On the other hand, for normal relief from an unplayable lie in a bunker you must drop in the bunker.

A wrong green is part of the general area and so any rule that says a relief area must be in the general area allows you to drop on a wrong putting green.
 
Yes, just as in previous years.
Many thanks to you and the other experts, as usual you are all correct, in the old rules book you have to read the definitions to be aware that a putting green is stated as being only the one on the hole in play, I incorrectly thought their were 18 with 17 being the wrong green but all still putting greens, rule 25 b I states not to drop on a putting green myself thinking this referred to all 18, aware that 17 were the wrong green as far as playing off went. at least this info is in plain sight in the new rules book. seems a little knowledge etc.
 
Top