Striking ball on practice swing


Journeyman Pro
May 20, 2017
Apologies for the stupid question, but does replacing the ball mean having to find your original or can you just use a different ball? I'm thinking if you spooned it into the bundu with a practice swing do you have to try and find that ball or can you just drop another then go and look (if you want the ball back)?
14.2 Replacing Ball on Spot
This Rule applies whenever a ball is lifted or moved and a Rule requires it to be replaced on a spot.
a. Original Ball Must Be Used
The original ball must be used when replacing a ball.
Exception – Another Ball May Be Used When:
• The original ball cannot be recovered with reasonable effort and in a few seconds, so long as the player did not deliberately cause the ball to become unrecoverable,