Slicing the Driver - Help

Visit site
Did a search but unfortunately didn't really find what I was looking for.
does anyone know of any previous threads that give tips on how to overcome slicing?

I am a complete beginner and just enjoy playing once a week with a few friends at the local short 12 hole course.

I can usually play with irons quite well, play them quite straight and accurate etc (although I sometimes fluff it or just take a huge divot out of the ground)
When it comes to driving, it's a different story......
9/10 times it will go to the right (normally out of bounds). I've watched several YouTube videos on how to improve the slice as much as possible. It has helped a bit but still slice it every now and then.

Anyone else got any advice?

cheers :)

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Go to a pro. Get proper advice, drills and advice and then work on what you've been shown. Far easier than trying to self diagnose. No disrespect but do you really know what your cause is to find the right cure?

Visit site
Thanks for the fast replies!!!

Homer - I will definitely have a lesson soon! I guess its my whole swinging action......body position/action when i swing. Watched some videos back and i look very uncomfortable and stiff, just use my arms and dont put my hips through it.

Amanda - Thanks for the link......i watched a video very similar to this but this one is much better!! i will definitely give it a go!! and read more through the thread!!
Also seen your from Cambridgeshire, do you ever play at Hemingford Abbots course? I used to play their with my grandad when i was about 12-14. Want to go back there one day!

Thanks again for the replies!!

tsped83

Tour Winner
Visit site
Two things helped cure my driver slice and now driving is the best part of my game;

1. Thinner grip on the driver
2. Flatter swing

tsped83

Tour Winner
Visit site