Should I have called a penalty on myself?

Backache

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
3,394
Visit site
There have been numerous times when my ball has landed in a bunker and I have caused the ball to move without replacing it.
I have deliberately hit down on the sand causing the ball to move .
I have clearly not taken a stroke as a stroke is defined as 'The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.'
My forward motion of the club has been to hit the sand rather than strike the ball.
Following this movement I have generally played the ball from where it lies without replacing it as this is a materially different place should I be disqualified or add two strokes I am unclear. As it is I have been in the habit of adding one stroke.
So far I have not been called out for this clear infraction of the rules but how should I procede in the future?
 
In a normal bunker shot your club hits sand not ball. That does not mean you haven’t made a stroke. You have been beating yourself up over nothing and penalising yourself needlessly.

Interpretation 10.1a/3 tells us that in a stroke, the clubhead does not need to make contact with the ball.
 
Last edited:
In a normal bunker shot your club hits sand not ball. That does not mean you haven’t made a stroke. You have been beating yourself up over nothing and penalising yourself needlessly.

Interpretation 10.1a/3 tells us that in a stroke, the clubhead does not need to make contact with the ball.
Or even intend to hit the ball, as in an example given.
 
Well thats a relief, though the definition seems a bit dodgy if in one of the interpretations its effectively saying welll not actually at the ball but at something in the way of the ball , (though probably not at a tree branch if the ball is stuck on that, depending on your reach)
 
It's Sunday, they are probably bored and want to get another 100 plus post thread going to discuss nothing.
I was just contemplating the definition of stroke and thinking how it didn't really reflect what a stroke was in a bunker and joking about it. Apologies if it has upset anyone.
 
Top