Ruling Jessica Korda today

scubascuba3

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
181
Visit site
I was watching the LPGA in Thailand today and there was a rule confusion. It didn't get mentioned by the media but I'm interested if the ruling was correct.

On the putting green she grounded her club and the ball moved (not caused by her). Brittany Lincicombe, Brooke Henderson and Jessica all agreed the rules are confusing and didn't know what to do, anyway the official was called and he ruled that she could play the ball without replacing. Was it correct not to replace the ball?
 
Yes I believe this is correct. Remember at the masters last year - a player was on the green and put his ball down and then it rolled into the water. had to go to the drop zone.

If she had caused to the ball to moved accidently - she would have to replace it.
 
The new Local Rule came into force Jan 2017 after a high profile incident involving Dustin Johnson in the 2016 US Open (and Ian Poulter in 2010). The players and their caddies should have known about it. It would have been highlighted on their notes given to them when signing in.

Accidental Movement of a Ball on a Putting Green
Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1 are modified as follows:
When a player’s ball lies on the putting green, there is no penalty if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved by the player, his partner, his opponent, or any of their caddies or equipment.
The moved ball or ball-marker must be replaced as provided in Rules 18-2, 18-3 and 20-1.
This Local Rule applies only when the player’s ball or ball-marker lies on the putting green and any movement is accidental.
Note: If it is determined that a player’s ball on the putting green was moved as a result of wind, water or some other natural cause such as the effects of gravity, the ball must be played as it lies from its new location. A ball-marker moved in such circumstances is replaced.
 
Last edited:
I find it strange that none of the players or caddies had a clue, you'd think the caddy at least would learn that rule

There are 2 aspects at play - 1. Recent change and 2. Protection from accidental non compliance.

So they get a ruling.

Given the agreement in the responsesnabove it's safe to say that's it's not that confusing to anyone who thinks about it, and whose tournament (or career as a caddy) isn't on the line with their recollection of the rules.
 
I was watching the LPGA in Thailand today and there was a rule confusion. It didn't get mentioned by the media but I'm interested if the ruling was correct.

On the putting green she grounded her club and the ball moved (not caused by her). Brittany Lincicombe, Brooke Henderson and Jessica all agreed the rules are confusing and didn't know what to do, anyway the official was called and he ruled that she could play the ball without replacing. Was it correct not to replace the ball?

So if she grounded the club and the ball moved how come it wasnt her fault?
 
Grounding the club does not necessarily mean she caused it to move.

The rule re addressing the ball was removed in 2016

I'm well aware of that - I thought that was why the hard card rule was changed that if the ball was moved accidentally it should be replaced without penalty. Failure to do this meant you were playing from the wrong place.

I didn't see the incident but unless it was windy and / or on a slope when replaced why would the ball move unles she caused it to do so?
 
I'm well aware of that - I thought that was why the hard card rule was changed that if the ball was moved accidentally it should be replaced without penalty. Failure to do this meant you were playing from the wrong place.

I didn't see the incident but unless it was windy and / or on a slope when replaced why would the ball move unles she caused it to do so?
I don't know, I wasn't there. But the referee was.
 
The players and caddies were obviously fazed by this, no certainty of the rule, i was there. The new rule when agreed should have been nice and simple to remember, replace the ball in all cases. We had to wait 10 mins to get a referee out.
 
If any Pro isn't 100% sure they will get a ruling.
There is obviously a grey area in this rule as it depends on nether the ball was moved accidentally or it moved by itself.
With lots of cash at stake, of there is any uncertainty they'll get a referee involved.
If they don't, they risk what happened to Lexi in Thailand - wrong procedure when her ball was close to an advertising board.
It was a temporary immovable obstruction, according to local tour rules, but she thought it was movable - so she moved it! So it was, therefore, movable if deemed otherwise...
Golf just likes complex rules sometimes...
 
If any Pro isn't 100% sure they will get a ruling.
There is obviously a grey area in this rule as it depends on nether the ball was moved accidentally or it moved by itself.
With lots of cash at stake, of there is any uncertainty they'll get a referee involved.
If they don't, they risk what happened to Lexi in Thailand - wrong procedure when her ball was close to an advertising board.
It was a temporary immovable obstruction, according to local tour rules, but she thought it was movable - so she moved it! So it was, therefore, movable if deemed otherwise...
Golf just likes complex rules sometimes...
I think the Committees try their best to make things consistent and (relatively) easy for players to understand and follow. Many players (DJ and Lexi are examples) don't read the notices they are given. Agree that they do, and should, ask for a referee when they are in doubt, but "in doubt" happens far too often. Sometimes they're seeking an advantage even when they strongly suspect the answer will be "no".
 
There is obviously a grey area in this rule as it depends on nether the ball was moved accidentally or it moved by itself.

Either ........ or .............

Doesn't sound like grey to me. More like black and white.

However, the Local Rule is on their hard card which they were given before they started.
 
It was a temporary immovable obstruction, according to local tour rules, but she thought it was movable - so she moved it! So it was, therefore, movable...
"Immovable obstruction" is a term of art in the ROG...meaning it is defined by the ROG not the OED. (A ball in an "unplayable" lie might be actually playable but still covered by R28 because unplayable is defined by the player.)
 
Top