Rules Query

johng

Head Pro
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
326
southerndowngolfclub.co.uk
Anybody have an answer to this please?

PLaying in a greensome foursome last night and our opponents had the honour - player 1 hit his drive OOB - player 2 makes an air shot + completely misses the ball :o. I've never come across this and nobody was sure what to do.

Suggestion was player 1 had to hit the teed up ball as he was next to play in the format - or play 3 off the Tee for his own OOB. Player 2 then picked the ball up from the Tee - incurring a penalty as the ball was in play - now nobody had a clue as what to do.

We were still to Tee off but they conceeded the hole on the Tee and off we went to the next Tee.

Any clarification will be gratefully received.

Yours - perplexed - :D

John.
 
Trying to understsnd the playing format.
If player 2 was taking the 2nd shot of the pair then he was 3off the tee and player 1 would then be hiting 4off the tee.
Would think that picking the ball up and conceeding the hole after taking a 2shot penalty would be the only option.
What ruling?
Havant a clue.
 
What is a "greensome foursome"??

I have only ever heard of one or the other??


That's just what I was going to ask.....

Greensomes, you both drive off, then pick the best ball...so no problem with your partner going OOB, just pick your ball.

Foursomes....which I think you were playing, you take alternate drives. Your partner, goes OOB, your playing 3 off the tee, air shot, now your partners playing 4

Rather than re-type........this is what your opponents should have done.
 
What is a "greensome foursome"??

I have only ever heard of one or the other??


Our league has always called it greensome - or gruesome - foursome??

But for clarification it is greensomes - both players tee off and the alternate shot from then on.

As I said Player 1 teed off and went OOB - player 2 tees it up, makes a stroke and misses the ball - should player1 play from the teed ball without moving or touching it?

and as player 2 then lifted his ball from the tee - who should have played next, from where and under what penalty?

still confused????
 
Wow, I think they should have picked the ball up and hurried to the next tee with their heads down!!

I think that Player 2 should have played at it again and put the ball into play for 2 and then player 1 would have been playing the 3rd shot with that ball from there.

Funny how the format name is interpreted. We would play a gruesome by both players teeing off and then the opposing team choosing which ball you will play alternate shots with (obviously the worst drive of the two!)
 
IMO, player 1 should have taken the next shot after the fresh air shot by player 2.....they would only have been playing their second shot at that point.

Because player 2 picked up the ball, that means that ball is not in play, I would say player 2 plays three off the tee because player 1 was OOB. In other words he's playing player 1 ball and because it was OOB he needs to play three off the tee.
 
I would assume that player 1 would have to play player 2s ball from the tee, because player 2 has made a stroke at it, and it is now in play. Unless player 1s ball is chosen, in which case player 2 is now playing '3 off the tee'.

Once he has picked it up, he would have to replace it under penalty of one stroke, for player 1 to hit.

Conceding the hole is also an option in matchplay.
 
What they should have done is after they had both hit their tee shot nominated which players ball they were going to use. Usually, picking up one is interpreted as "we will play the other". Having picked up his ball player 2 should then have played 3 off the tee (ie stroke and distance on Player 1's ball).
If player 1 took the next shot then that would mean they had played Player 2's original tee shot and would have incurred a penalty shot for Player 2 moving the ball, so this too would be the third shot.
So, either way it would be same number of strokes but a different order.
 
What they should have done is after they had both hit their tee shot nominated which players ball they were going to use. Usually, picking up one is interpreted as "we will play the other". Having picked up his ball player 2 should then have played 3 off the tee (ie stroke and distance on Player 1's ball).
If player 1 took the next shot then that would mean they had played Player 2's original tee shot and would have incurred a penalty shot for Player 2 moving the ball, so this too would be the third shot.
So, either way it would be same number of strokes but a different order.

Correct imo
 
Anybody have an answer to this please?

PLaying in a greensome foursome last night and our opponents had the honour - player 1 hit his drive OOB - player 2 makes an air shot + completely misses the ball :o. I've never come across this and nobody was sure what to do.

Suggestion was player 1 had to hit the teed up ball as he was next to play in the format - or play 3 off the Tee for his own OOB. Player 2 then picked the ball up from the Tee - incurring a penalty as the ball was in play - now nobody had a clue as what to do.

We were still to Tee off but they conceeded the hole on the Tee and off we went to the next Tee.

Any clarification will be gratefully received.

Yours - perplexed - :D

John.

Dear John

I'm not suprised you're confused, you confused me.
The rules are really simple though.

First a definintion of a stroke:-
A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

So if you were playing Foursome:-
Player 1 - OOB
Player 2 - Playing 3 off the tee - but missed.
Action
Player 1 plays 4 off the tee.

If you were playing Greensome:-
Player 1 - OOB
Player 2 - Playing 1 off the tee - but missed.
Action
Player 1 plays 2 off the tee.
________________________________________________

Just an aside here.

If you're playing a friendly and you want to speed things up a bit, try playing a Canadian Greensome. This is where each team member plays 2 strokes before you choose the ball to finish the hole.
Great first round format for a society day when you're playing 2 rounds. You get to play plenty of shots, see all the pin positions, and you get to spend an extra half hour in the bar.
 
Thanks to everyone for the answer.

I thought it would end up 3 off the tee which ever way it went - but as they conceeded the hole ther and then we just quickly moved on - which it appears is similar to what Tommo21 wants us to do.

Thanks again,

John.
 
Just to further muddy the waters. I'd have expected this to happen -

Player 2 hits player 1s ball (just air'ed) and it's shot no.2 for that ball
Player 2 then hits his provisional as his 3rd.

Player 1 then has to play player 2s provisional (for 4) AND players 2s ball (that was just missed by himself) (for 3)....player 2 has to have a fag whilst player 1 hopes he can remember how to play golf, as he's now facing two shots!

Brain overload.....

:o goin' to bed.
 
Top