Rule for not removing attended flag

Anyone else find this bizarre? So you could have a 60ft putt in a singles matchplay and your opponent could just say "Nah mate" when asked to attend? Would take some brass neck but I can believe some would stoop to it.....must have happened for there to be a decision.. Can anyone think of a valid reason for saying no, other than blatant gamesmanship? Is there any redress under "Spirit of the game" in the Etiquette section? i.e "demonstrating courtesy and sportsmanship at all times"?

17-1/2 is specific and there cannot be redress under another rule or section as you suggest/ask.

co-opt a caddy or consider sprinting across the green to remove it yourself with a little more care over your line than his....he might just change his mind :)
 
don't worry thinking about it anymore....

" 17-1. Flagstick Attended, Removed or Held Up

Before making a stroke from anywhere on the course, the player may have the flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole"

Why didn't I find that when I looked (before I posted). Huh. Thought so.
 
I like the subtlety to attending the flag that tells us that attending the flag is not just holding it!

Let's say that your PP is on the fringe and you walk up to the flag and ask if he wants it attended. He tells you that he doesn't and wants it left in. So you takes a step away - but you stay close enough that you could still lean over a take it out. PP putts up and hits flag. He is penalised for hitting the flag as you are deemed to be attending the flag even although you are not holding it. If he had asked you to step away from the flag he would have been OK.

See Decision 17-1/1

Not sure about that as PP specifically said he does not want it attended. As I see it any attendance is therefore unauthorised and Rule 17-2 would apply if you then removed the flagstick while the ball was in motion. ie. you are penalised not the other player.

See decison 17-2/2 Flagstick Attended by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor Without Authority While Player's Ball in Motion.
 
If you have a blind shot and cannot see the flag (and you could be 200yds away) - I think your caddie can attend the flag and hold it in the air to show you your line - I think. Not that I've ever done it or seen it done.

don't worry thinking about it anymore....

" 17-1. Flagstick Attended, Removed or Held Up

Before making a stroke from anywhere on the course, the player may have the flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole"

Duncan would i be correct in saying BEFORE is important here, OR can the flag be held aloft during the stroke ?
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Duncan would i be correct in saying BEFORE is important here, OR can the flag be held aloft during the stroke ?

Before making a stroke from anywhere on the course, the player may have the flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole

This should be read in conjunction with the next sentence in the rule.

If the flagstick is not attended, removed or held up before the player makes a stroke, it must not be attended, removed or held up during the stroke or while the player's ball is in motion if doing so might influence the movement of the ball.

So it can be removed or lifted aloft during the flight of the ball providing it was already attended before the stroke was made.
 
Top