• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Relief?

Vikingman

Head Pro
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
532
Location
Widnes
Visit site
A ball finishes on a cart path that winds between what can best be described as reasonably steep but pretty bare dunes. The player removes the ball from the cart path and drops it within one club length on the dune. The ball rolls back onto the path, then again a second time. The player then attempts to place the ball and again it rolls back onto the cart path. What are his options now?
 
I hope you mean he dropped his ball within a club-length of the nearest point of complete relief not of the path :unsure:

Place the ball on the nearest spot to the original spot where ball will stay at rest, and
there is no interference;
it is not nearer the hole;
it is in the general area if the original was;
it is in the bunker if the original was;
it is either on the putting green or in the general area if the original was on the putting green.

That can take a number of tries getting further away from the original spot.

See Rule 14.2e
https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-14#14-2e
 
I hope you mean he dropped his ball within a club-length of the nearest point of complete relief not of the path :unsure:QUOTE]

Hello- concerning complete relief. I'm not fully up on this, but tonight I saw Phil Mickelson drop from a red water hazard( now penalty area😀) and I thought I saw him drop the ball about 3 /4 inches from the red line, in play, whilst he himself stood in the penalty area whilst he made his stroke.
It clearly suited him, being left handed.
The thought of "complete relief" came to me and I wonder if he did the correct thing?
Or should he have been standing completely outside of the penalty area?
 
"Complete relief" is different for a penalty area and an immovable obstruction (cart path). For relief from a penalty area, "complete relief" only means relief for the lie of the ball; for a cart path (immovable obstruction), "complete relief" means relief for the lie of the ball, area of intended stance and swing.
 
"Complete relief" is different for a penalty area and an immovable obstruction (cart path). For relief from a penalty area, "complete relief" only means relief for the lie of the ball; for a cart path (immovable obstruction), "complete relief" means relief for the lie of the ball, area of intended stance and swing.

Thanks
 
"Complete relief" is different for a penalty area and an immovable obstruction (cart path). For relief from a penalty area, "complete relief" only means relief for the lie of the ball; for a cart path (immovable obstruction), "complete relief" means relief for the lie of the ball, area of intended stance and swing.

Does this mean that if I am taking relief from a temporary green, that I must stand and play the shot so that no part of my swing is allowed to be over any part of the said temporary green?
This arose as a discussion recently.
TIA
 
No, that's not what it says.
Swing means the path of the club (head and shaft) and therefore anything that they will make contact with during their path mustn't constitute interference.

If you take a divot from the temporary green it was clearly in the path of your clubhead - if the clubhead simply passes above the temporary green that's fine.
 
No, that's not what it says.
Swing means the path of the club (head and shaft) and therefore anything that they will make contact with during their path mustn't constitute interference.

If you take a divot from the temporary green it was clearly in the path of your clubhead - if the clubhead simply passes above the temporary green that's fine.

Thanks .
 
Top