Swango1980
Well-known member
Scenario: A player finds his ball under a bush. The only real sensible option would be to take a penalty, as it isn't playable. However, the ball also is in an animal scraping. The player says that, in this situation, they would normally get on their knees like Ballesteros, and then take a wild hack left-handed in the hope to get it out. Therefore, as they claim that this is what they will do, can they reasonably then claim that they get relief from the animal scraping? In most circumstances, forgetting the scraping, the only sensible option is to take the penalty drop. However, we have all seen players who seem determined to hack at a ball many times under a bush to try and get it out, where a penalty drop would guarantee they get it out into a similar position anyway. So, under the rules, then I think I am right in thinking that they do get free relief from the scraping (which might just get them away from the bush, or in a much more favourable position), simply because it is true that they could still technically play the ball, albeit probably unsuccessfully.
It's an interesting one, because it does come up from time to time. About 10 years ago I was playing at a league match at another course, and there were at least 5-6 occasions an opponent got free relief from a bush or a tree because his ball was on or near an animal scraping (they had quite a few scraping from rabbits, so basically anything that looked vaguely like a scraping near his ball, when he was in trouble, he was claiming relief for).
It's an interesting one, because it does come up from time to time. About 10 years ago I was playing at a league match at another course, and there were at least 5-6 occasions an opponent got free relief from a bush or a tree because his ball was on or near an animal scraping (they had quite a few scraping from rabbits, so basically anything that looked vaguely like a scraping near his ball, when he was in trouble, he was claiming relief for).