Relief for ball on a wrong green?

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
25,084
Location
Kent
Visit site
When taking relief for a ball on a wrong green is a player entitled to relief from the apron of the green too?.

Thanks in advance for answer
 
I'd say no unless there is a local rule in place to prohibit it . I've dropped on to apron/fringe as it's not putting green.
Some aprons I've played are petty much cut to the same as the green !
 
Last edited:
When taking relief for a ball on a wrong green is a player entitled to relief from the apron of the green too?.
My reading of rule 13.1f is that if your ball is on the apron and you would have to stand on the green to play it, then you MUST take relief.
Conversely, if your ball is on the apron and you do not need to stand on the green to play it, then you may not take relief.
 
There is also a model local rule, D-4 that designates a modified nearest point of complete relief that avoids a drop onto and play from the fringe. So one might expect, at some courses, that the fringe of a wrong putting green is treated the same as the putting green itself via a LR. Otherwise, cliveb's analysis would apply.
 
There is also a model local rule, D-4 that designates a modified nearest point of complete relief that avoids a drop onto and play from the fringe. So one might expect, at some courses, that the fringe of a wrong putting green is treated the same as the putting green itself via a LR. Otherwise, cliveb's analysis would apply.

Glad to read that Barrie as I always played to what Clive said
 
There is also a model local rule, D-4 that designates a modified nearest point of complete relief that avoids a drop onto and play from the fringe. So one might expect, at some courses, that the fringe of a wrong putting green is treated the same as the putting green itself via a LR. Otherwise, cliveb's analysis would apply.
Previously, Decision 33-8/33 did the same job.
 
Top