PW help needed

KevNB

Visit site
Hi, new to the forum, I'm Kev.

I'm looking into buying a new wedge, to replace the PW I got with my set of irons. I'm a 28 handicap. I really have little knowledge on what to look for.

I've came to 2 outcomes: 1. buy a wedge for quite cheap
2. buy a top of the range club, that will last me for years

Im leaning towards option 2. Can anyone help with what it should be? Club, Degree (48 maybe?), bounce etc...

Thank you, I hope this makes sense.

brendy

Global Moderator
Visit site
Depending on how much you practice and play, even the best wedge out there might only last a couple of years. I use MD wedges and at around £50 quid a club, is half the price of some of the supposed better clubs, might be worth a punt, especially as they come out ahead of most of the clubs for value, performance etc.

KevNB

Visit site
Hi thanks Bob. I've been playing for maybe 18 months, on average 1.5 times per week. I joined Hartlepool golf club around 3 months ago. I've had no lessons yet, mainly because when I started to play it was a casual thing. Now, I'm taking it more seriously. I bought a set of Ben sayers M7, recommended by a friend as a good set for a beginner, I've already replaced the putter. My favourite part of the game is in and around the green, and could always rely on my PW for a good shot and to boost my confidence, it's my favourite club in my bag, well it was until it broke (my fault).

Now I need a new one. Should I go to a store for fitting etc..?

KevNB

Visit site
Yeah, its just the shaft, snapped in half :angry:. Still instead of fixing it, I would prefer to get a new one I think.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Yeah, its just the shaft, snapped in half :angry:. Still instead of fixing it, I would prefer to get a new one I think.

I would suggest you get it fixed, get some lessons, then practice and get better.
Then get a new set.
If you just buy a new wedge it will feel different from the rest of your set.

Basher