Putting another ball into play

Under Rule 27-1a, which I will again quote in full, a player is perfectly entitled to put another ball into play under stroke and distance penalty.

"a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e. proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
Except as otherwise provided in the*Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance. "

Ah, that's the one you recently suggested I should read!

All Foxholer was picking up on was your sequence of events when you said play a provisional ball and declare it as such to your opponent or FC.. First you declare it a provisional ball and then you play it. Just picking a nit, that's all.

Perhaps, gentlemen, it's time to let this thread die a natural death before it has to be killed by a moderator? And that would be a shame since the Rules Forum has generally been very successfully self-regulating
:cheers:
 
Last edited:
All Foxholer was picking up on was your sequence of events when you said play a provisional ball and declare it as such to your opponent or FC.. First you declare it a provisional ball and then you play it. Just picking a nit, that's all.

Exactly, but a demonstration of the problem!
 
I started this thread to illustrate a subtle but important point between two different scenarios.
Any potential for education has most probably been buried under a mass of contradiction and quoting of irrelevant other rules.

Ah well...
 
I started this thread to illustrate a subtle but important point between two different scenarios.

You did indeed, and is one worth remembering.

Especially when either or both can be used to counter the often heard (by me at least) myth that starting your walk back to play S&D is the point at which you've abandonded your original and are irrevocably committed to putting another ball in play. (Which myth I suspect may perhaps be connected with the days when it was possible to declare a ball lost?)
 
You did indeed, and is one worth remembering.

Especially when either or both can be used to counter the often heard (by me at least) myth that starting your walk back to play S&D is the point at which you've abandonded your original and are irrevocably committed to putting another ball in play. (Which myth I suspect may perhaps be connected with the days when it was possible to declare a ball lost?)
The main reason (perhaps unconsciously) for being anal about "declaring" the ball lost, is to illustrate the more important point of reading the rules literally and realizing that some terms do not have their common meaning but are defined in the rules. (a so-called "term of art.)
 
Top