Putting another ball into play

my issue is that they do not make the point sufficient to the point in discussion!

if you wish me to stay more on topic I will

Originally Posted by delc
Going back to the original posting in this thread, a teed ball is not in play until you make a stroke at it. In all other circumstances a ball on the ground is in play.


I am playing a par 3 and place my ball on the ground rather than on a tee.......it's not in play!!!

If I take a practice swing and accidentally hit my ball there is no penalty, it doesn't matter if it's teed or on the ground.

I stand by my view that such soundbites of the rules do more to bite than help/clarify.

A teed ball is one on a teeing ground that has not yet been put into play by making a stroke at it, irrespective of whether it is actually on a tee peg or not! :)
 
I'm very very confused now.

In the original decision that I quoted in first post "teed" means a ball on the teeing ground?
Surely it is still considered teed if you put it on a handy tuft of grass?

Just re-read your OP. That's sufficient to demonstrate the difference! No confusion there!

As I've said many times before, The Rules are written quite carefully and deliberately and should be read absolutely literally.

It's when we try to explain or, worse still, interpret them, using different words that the trouble begins. And by 'The Rules', I also include (answers of) the Decisions!

There are lots of circumstances where a broad statement like DelC's 'a ball on the ground is always in play' is simply wrong - another case is likely to be the 2 identically marked balls on the fairway (both are 'lost'!) so making such statements is fraught with potential for myths! Duncan, quite rightly imo, simply pointed out the danger (and fallacy) of the statement!

Btw. The same applies to everything I have just said! :rolleyes: :whistle:

There are 3 (maybe 4?) acknowledged (qualified even) Rules gurus on here. The rest of us are just enthusiastic, well intentioned, perhaps knowledgeable, 'amateurs' whose replies should be 'trusted' (only) to the same extent as you would other posts!
 
Last edited:
A teed ball is one on a teeing ground that has not yet been put into play by making a stroke at it, irrespective of whether it is actually on a tee peg or not! :)

Another example of a myth!

There is no 'definition' of a 'teed ball'! Nor is there any need for one!The above is simply your invention and interpretation of what it might mean - to fit in with your erroneous statement!
 
Last edited:
Another example of a myth!

There is no 'definition' of a 'teed ball'! Nor is there any need for one!The above is simply your invention and interpretation of what it might mean - to fit in with your erroneous statement!

Perhaps reading rule 11-1 might help, which I quote as written!:

"When a player is putting a ball into play from the teeing ground, it must be played from within the teeing ground and from the surface of the ground or from a conforming tee (see Appendix IV) in or on the surface of the ground.
For the purposes of this Rule, the surface of the ground includes an irregularity of surface (whether or not created by the player) and sand or other natural substance (whether or not placed by the player).
If a player makes a stroke at a ball on a non-conforming tee, or at a ball teed in a manner not permitted by this Rule, he is disqualified.
A player may stand outside the teeing ground to play a ball within it."
 
Well I'll take your word for it. My brain does not remember from one post to the next who wrote it or his history. I take each post as having no history. If I am getting involved in a prior skirmish, I don't want to.

I will say this: I have been impressed with the quality of rules knowledge and courtesy on this board. I might not recognize some squabbles but that suits me fine. The common language that separates us might be a blessing.:)

I think my point (though maybe not apropos in this case) is that in the interest of facilitating responses to specific issues, it might be beneficial to ignore some minor errors that don't relate directly to it. I take your point that it might not be that way in this case, but that was my point.

Enjoyable folks. :whoo:
 
Perhaps reading rule 11-1 might help, which I quote as written!:

"When a player is putting a ball into play from the teeing ground,....

it would have left things very clear but it's not what you posted earlier and kicked all this off :rant:
 
Well I'll take your word for it. My brain does not remember from one post to the next who wrote it or his history. I take each post as having no history. If I am getting involved in a prior skirmish, I don't want to.

I will say this: I have been impressed with the quality of rules knowledge and courtesy on this board. I might not recognize some squabbles but that suits me fine. The common language that separates us might be a blessing.:)

I think my point (though maybe not apropos in this case) is that in the interest of facilitating responses to specific issues, it might be beneficial to ignore some minor errors that don't relate directly to it. I take your point that it might not be that way in this case, but that was my point.

Enjoyable folks. :whoo:

agreed; and I do try very hard to follow those principles.
 
I was involved in a similar 'shot-costing' incident - that also cost me a win in a comp!

Hit Drive and couldn't find it; went back to hit another, requesting that FCs continue looking and yell if they find it. Hit 2nd ball and when I got back they tossed me my 1st that they'd found (in time!), but thought it was lost as soon as I returned to play the 2nd! went through the rigmarole of playing 2 balls and checked with 'the Committee' (the Pro). He ruled, correctly I believe, that the ball was 'lost' as soon as I struck the 2nd, even though it had been found! It's an area I've been 'hot' on ever since!

Made the same mistake last year.

Couldn't find ball in absolute cack so walked back over a hill (said hill was reason for no provisional because we thought it would be in middle of fairway). Long before 5 mins,a nd well before I put the 2nd ball into play my FCs found and identified my ball. Because of said hill they couldn't get my attention or stop me teeing off again. We decided (wrongly) that the ball was found and identified before 5 mins and before the 2nd ball so mutually wrongly played on with the first.

All of us completely forgot about it and didn' t realise til several weeks later. Good job it didn't affect anything

But it does seem a situation to me that the rules could acknowledge - the ball has been found and identified,in sufficient time. Notthe same case as the ball found after the 2nd ball in play, and to my sense it would appear to be a reasonable case - I am sure the rules gurus will let us know why such a rule modification would be folly :)
 
can't figure out your problem. You couldn't hear your mates tell you the original was found and you played the provisional?
 
Essentially, if you hope to find your original ball, play a provisional ball and declare it as such to your opponent or FCs. If you don't want to find it play 3 off the tee. :)
 
Perhaps reading rule 11-1 might help, which I quote as written!:

"When a player is putting a ball into play from the teeing ground, it must be played from within the teeing ground and from the surface of the ground or from a conforming tee (see Appendix IV) in or on the surface of the ground.
For the purposes of this Rule, the surface of the ground includes an irregularity of surface (whether or not created by the player) and sand or other natural substance (whether or not placed by the player).
If a player makes a stroke at a ball on a non-conforming tee, or at a ball teed in a manner not permitted by this Rule, he is disqualified.
A player may stand outside the teeing ground to play a ball within it."

Nope! Nothing in there about 'teed-ball'!

If you can show anything in The Rules that indicates a definition of a 'teed-ball' that supports your definition, then I'll be happy to admit I was/am wrong, otherwise admit it was an invention by you solely to support your, erroneous, statement - and as such potentially create a myth!

Such inventions are extremely dangerous and should be refuted wherever encountered. I believe it would probably, nay! almost certainly, be better for us all if you refrained from commenting on any Rules queries!
 
Nope! Nothing in there about 'teed-ball'!

If you can show anything in The Rules that indicates a definition of a 'teed-ball' that supports your definition, then I'll be happy to admit I was/am wrong, otherwise admit it was an invention by you solely to support your, erroneous, statement - and as such potentially create a myth!

Such inventions are extremely dangerous and should be refuted wherever encountered. I believe it would probably, nay! almost certainly, be better for us all if you refrained from commenting on any Rules queries!
So what else do you call a ball on a teeing ground? Is it really necessary to be so offensive?!!! :angry:
 
So what else do you call a ball on a teeing ground?

Why do you need to call it anything?

It's a ball on a teeing ground! It may have other attributes/status, but 'teed-ball' is not a defined one, n or does it need to be!

Is it really necessary to be so offensive?!!! :angry:

I find (your) inventions/myths particularly offensive - as/for reasons I pointed out in the post you quote. I tried a couple of polite rebuttals - as has Duncan, but the message doesn't appear to have got through.

Even the following post has a potentially dangerous error (of order) in it!

Essentially, if you hope to find your original ball, play a provisional ball and declare it as such to your opponent or FCs. If you don't want to find it play 3 off the tee. :)

Now about that admission.......
 
Last edited:
Under Rule 27-1a, which I will again quote in full, a player is perfectly entitled to put another ball into play under stroke and distance penalty.

"a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e. proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
Except as otherwise provided in the*Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance. "
 
Under Rule 27-1a, which I will again quote in full, a player is perfectly entitled to put another ball into play under stroke and distance penalty.

"a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e. proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
Except as otherwise provided in the*Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance. "

True, but so what! That wasn't the error I was referring to!
 
Top