Canary_Yellow
Journeyman Pro
Not signing means a DQ, but it would still count for handicap purposes.
Is that so? I had mistakenly thought a DQ did not qualify for any purpose.
Not signing means a DQ, but it would still count for handicap purposes.
Been as I scored on all holes and therefore wrote both shots and points down it handed occurred to me.
But it I sincerely thank you for your input.
btw, all three in the group did the same. One had four blobs so not score and other had point some on all holes so submitted card fine.
Great minds.
To play a full round and not realise the format? Genius.
Not wanting to make it worse - but did you work out where you would have actually finished in the medal if you'd have submitted your card correctly?![]()
a DQ would mean you would still get cut, you just can't win a price or be placed in the comp.
Where you playing gimmes or something?
if it was stableford, its marked as a no score on the card and on a computer, if SP then its an NR.
I played in my first comp yesterday since 2016.
I played in a qualifying 9 hole Stableford and was advised in the Pro shop to just put gross scores as the computer adjusts the card.
Worked fine.
As a bonus scored 43 gross for 39 points,hopefully a cut in the offing.
If you don't sign the card and are DQd, why do you still get a reduction?
I understand why if NR, but if the card isn't signed, how does anyone know the score is legitimate?
On the otherhand, I guess the system guards against bandits rather than people having a handicap that is too low.
I played in my first comp yesterday since 2016.
I played in a qualifying 9 hole Stableford and was advised in the Pro shop to just put gross scores as the computer adjusts the card.
Worked fine.
As a bonus scored 43 gross for 39 points,hopefully a cut in the offing.
Eh, 39 points for a 9 hole stableford????
how many shots were you getting?
expect their system adds 18 points to a 9 hole score to convert to an 18 hole score (which is what is then used for hcap adj)
I agree with all that's been said about still getting a cut.
But if you had realised your mistake (or been told) before you left the 18th green, then you could have replaced the ball under penalty of one stroke, and then finished the hole. (Rule 18/2 - ball at rest moved). And possibly still been in with a chance of a prize. But as you'd left the 18th green, then yes, afraid it's a dq for failing to hole out (rule 3/2)