Playing Wrong Ball

I've done it twice, first time on a green. Both marked and lifted, I replaced and holed a nice little 12 footer for "birdie". He replaced, realised what had happened before putting - doh! Of course I missed the putt second time so ended up with a 6.
 
I've done it twice, first time on a green. Both marked and lifted, I replaced and holed a nice little 12 footer for "birdie". He replaced, realised what had happened before putting - doh! Of course I missed the putt second time so ended up with a 6.

I take it that you each marked and lifted each other's ball? In which case, as I see it, when you replaced and played your FC's ball you did not play a wrong ball (see post #10). You substituted a ball incorrectly and played from a wrong place. There is a 2 stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place but there is no additional penalty for the incorrect substitution (see the Exception to Rule 15-2). Since you have to continue playing with a ball played from a wrong place you correctly holed out for the number of strokes taken plus 2 penalty strokes. I expect we can dismiss the possibility of there having been a serious breach in playing from the wrong place, and so you did not need to play again from the correct place and those putts would be disregarded.
 
Caught out playing an incorrectly substituted ball recently when my f/c lifted and marked my ball on the green while I raked a bunker then gave me his ball by mistake, which I replaced and played.

Just to check rules for different scenarios.

Balls belonging to players A and B are both on the green near to each other. My understanding is

In stroke play:-

If A simply walks up and plays B's ball, then A has played a wrong ball and must play out the hole with his own ball under a 2 shot pen before teeing off at the next hole or be DQ'd. Strokes played with B's ball don't count - Rule 15-3b.

If both players mark their balls and A mistakenly replaces his ball where B's marker is and putts from there, he has played from the wrong place but provided there is no serious breach, A simply plays out the hole with his ball as played with a 2 shot penalty - Rule 20-7c.

If A accidentally replaces another ball (maybe he had another ball in his pocket) at either his own or B's marker and holes out with that, then he has played an incorrectly substituted ball and (if replaced at B's marker) has also played from the wrong place. In either case the score with that ball counts and a 2 shot penalty is applied - Rule 15-2 and Exception.

Match play is simply loss of hole in each scenario.

Is that right?

I love the Rules of Golf!
 
I take it that you each marked and lifted each other's ball? In which case, as I see it, when you replaced and played your FC's ball you did not play a wrong ball (see post #10). You substituted a ball incorrectly and played from a wrong place. There is a 2 stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place but there is no additional penalty for the incorrect substitution (see the Exception to Rule 15-2). Since you have to continue playing with a ball played from a wrong place you correctly holed out for the number of strokes taken plus 2 penalty strokes. I expect we can dismiss the possibility of there having been a serious breach in playing from the wrong place, and so you did not need to play again from the correct place and those putts would be disregarded.

Yes, indeed that's what we did. Thanks Colin, sure your interpretation is correct but I must admit I struggle with the reasoning for this rule (or the note to the rule). Anywhere else on the course if I play my opponents ball then it's a "wrong ball". If I happen to mark it and replace it then it somehow becomes a substituted ball, albeit "wrongy substituted" and the situation is treated differently. Looked back through some old rules and seems this distiction was only introduced in 2004. As this took place in the late 90's what I did was (as far as I can see) correct at the time......may even have looked up what to do as it was a bit odd......then probably never picked up on the change as never seen it arise again.
 
Yes, indeed that's what we did. Thanks Colin, sure your interpretation is correct but I must admit I struggle with the reasoning for this rule (or the note to the rule). Anywhere else on the course if I play my opponents ball then it's a "wrong ball". If I happen to mark it and replace it then it somehow becomes a substituted ball, albeit "wrongy substituted" and the situation is treated differently. Looked back through some old rules and seems this distiction was only introduced in 2004. As this took place in the late 90's what I did was (as far as I can see) correct at the time......may even have looked up what to do as it was a bit odd......then probably never picked up on the change as never seen it arise again.
The difference is that if you have the ball in your hand you have every opportunity to identify it. The rule assumes that you did and put this ball into play as a substitution for the correct ball.
 
I dont ive ever played a wrong ball, i dont quite understand how you could, unless in extreme circumstances. That said a chap I play with has done it loads but he's wired incorrectly.

we were both playing Titleist 3 with red number. He mustn't have checked his ball.
 
I dont ive ever played a wrong ball, i dont quite understand how you could, unless in extreme circumstances. That said a chap I play with has done it loads but he's wired incorrectly.

I checked with the dozen or so other guys in our roll up on Sunday and every one of us had played a wrong ball at least once, I suspect you're very much in the minority Mashley.
 
I checked with the dozen or so other guys in our roll up on Sunday and every one of us had played a wrong ball at least once, I suspect you're very much in the minority Mashley.

It will happen! I hadn't done it for 35 years, then it happened 3 times in 2 months ( for all the usual reasons/excuses)
 
Top