Perfect number of wedges

iku

Head Pro
Visit site
At the moment I'm playing with a PW (48*) and 56* and I try to adjust the extension of my swing around these two clubs but clearly on a full swing there is a big gap between the two. I hit the pw about 120 yds and the 56* something like 80-90.

So basically I fill the gap by reducing the swing on the pw but I find it a bit unreliable. I tried to hit a 52* at the range and that was going 100-110 yds.

Anyway, I'm still a beginner and play off 17 and looking around I see a lot of single figure players using only 2 wedges and being able to modulate the swing to suit virtully any distance under 150 yds.

So my question is: shall I work hard and improve the control of my 48-56 or get a 52 and fill that 30 yds gap? As you can see below I still have space in the bag but I'm tempted to get a 5 wood.

One Planer

Global Moderator
Visit site
Definatley get a gap wedge to fill your distance between wedges IMO.

I currentley play 4 (PW,52,56,60) wedges, But I've decided to take Uncle Bobs (..... And others) advice and drop the 60.

Reason being I spent nearly an hour last weekend at the short game practice area manipulating the first 3 wedges and found I could achieve a mutitude of shots and wouldn't miss the 60 if I were to take it out.

And heres the best part.

I actually found it quite fun experementing with just 3. With a little more practice I'll have the distances, more or less, and can then feel confident doing it on the course.

G1BB0

Money List Winner
Visit site
good post as its something I have mixed and matched since I started playing back in March. Started with just pw & sw but as I was cak it didnt matter what I had in the bag.

Moved to pw, 52, 56 & 60 but found I was short in the top end of my bag between 3 wood and 4 hybrid

recently been using pw (46 deg) a 54 & 60 but found I really missed the old gap wedge for the 90-110 yard shots.

was either trying for a hard 54 or an easy gripped down pw.