Penalty or Not - on Green

Ok, I think we're now clear on that one & that, when playing stroke-play individually folk cant agree to leave a ball as a 'back stop' without suffering penalty. However is this ok if the ball belongs to a B'Ball partner??
 
Last edited:
Ok, I think we're now clear on that one & that, when playing stroke-play individually folk cant agree to leave a ball as a 'back stop' without suffering penalty. However is this ok if the ball belongs to a B'Ball partner??
A partner counts as the player
 
It must be a strange scenario where if I am good enough to deliberately hit a ball that is 1.68 inches big then surely I would put it into the hole that is over 2.5 times as big. I can see where I (being not that good) might hit it towards a hole with a ball nearby that might deflect it towards the hole if I were off-line, but to me that is not deliberately playing a shot to hit the ball.

Not sure of the singles matchplay scenario that I might deliberately gain advantage by deliberately hitting an opponents ball with my pwn and into the distance - but I can envisage it in fourball matchplay.

But as mentioned - I 99.5%+ knew that I couldn't do that - just couldn't find the ruling.
 
Oh yes... matchplay
Edit... think I've answer for myself... matchplay Yes.... stroke, No
I'd agree with that. In match play though, if one of your opponents requests that you mark the ball near the hole, you must do so. (Rule 15.3a)
 
Not sure of the singles matchplay scenario that I might deliberately gain advantage by deliberately hitting an opponents ball with my pwn and into the distance - but I can envisage it in fourball matchplay.

But as mentioned - I 99.5%+ knew that I couldn't do that - just couldn't find the ruling.

It's golf we play, not croquet. :)
 
Top