Patchy Green

Crazyface

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2010
Messages
7,822
Location
Cheshire
Visit site
Yesterday, on a green, I marked my ball to clean it and when I'd lifted it up I found that it was in an indentation caused by there being no grass, ie it was on a small patch of earth. So when I replaced it and then putted it the first thing the ball did was to bobble up. Surely this isn't fair. Is there a rule to cover this? Please tell me there is. I can't for one second imagine a top player being chuffed to have to replace his ball on the green in what is effectively a divot.
 
Top players wouldnt have such situations on the green they play.

You may repair damage, you can't remanufactured the green surface where it's poor.
Whilst I'm sure it's not what you are referencing I would also highlight that you cannot repair aeration holes either.
 
Is there a rule to cover this? Please tell me there is.
There is.

13.1c(2)
Improvements Allowed on Putting Green

(2) Repair of Damage. A player may repair damage on the putting green without penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green as nearly as possible to its original condition,
But “damage on the putting green” does not include any damage or conditions that result from:
Natural surface imperfections (such as weeds or areas of bare, diseased or uneven growth)
 
I have this issue at my place at the moment due to a fall out from disease last year. Whilst it is very annoying it is one of those suck it moments. After all, you don't want to be known as Lexi do you?
 
Top players wouldnt have such situations on the green they play.

You may repair damage, you can't remanufactured the green surface where it's poor.
Whilst I'm sure it's not what you are referencing I would also highlight that you cannot repair aeration holes either.

but you can take relief from an aeration hole if there is a Local Rule in place permitting such.
 
but you can take relief from an aeration hole if there is a Local Rule in place permitting such.
Completely seperate issue.

Yes, if E-4 is in force you can get relief if your ball is touching an aeration hole, both on the green and in the general area.
 
There is.

13.1c(2)
Improvements Allowed on Putting Green

(2) Repair of Damage. A player may repair damage on the putting green without penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green as nearly as possible to its original condition,
But “damage on the putting green” does not include any damage or conditions that result from:
Natural surface imperfections (such as weeds or areas of bare, diseased or uneven growth)

Awwww nutz
 
Top