Oversized club heads - are they limiting me?

StuartCrees

Visit site
Hi guys,

As the topic says..

Long story short, I've been playing properly for almost 2 years (been playing all my life but playing once to three times a week now) and about 7/8 months ago I purchased the TM AeroBurner HL Irons.

I got my handicap of 20 around a year ago and my scores are dropping all the time. I've been shooting in the low 80's recently.

I loved the clubs at first because they were so fat and forgiving, they helped me with control. But now I'm getting better all the time and I finally feel confident hitting my irons, I almost feel like they're limiting me a bit. My 5 Iron for example is so fat it's almost like a hybrid. Do you think this will limit my game?

For example when I'm in between my PW and 56, I feel that my PW is so fat it's not allowing me to play the shot I want and the sight of it almost puts me off now.

I mean is this a thing? Has anyone else had the same experience? I'm obviously not looking at buying blades (though I have hit some well), but I think I'd almost be better off suited to some clubs with thinner heads. I just don't know if it's worth it or what would be suitable.

I know it's quite a vague question but any advice/personal experiences would be nice to hear.

Thanks

Coffey

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
What do you think would improve if you changed your clubs? Are you looking for more control? Lower ball flight?

I can't find any details on the lofts of the HL version but the normal Aeroburner irons are extremely strong lofts, the PW is 43 degrees. I can imagine that there is a massive difference between the loft of your 56 and your pw.

Why does having a bigger club head limit you? is it just the looks that you no longer like?

I personally do not think they will limit you as they are still quality irons. You may need to add a wedge in there to fill the gap between the pw and the 56 and that will give you a few more options.

StuartCrees