Golfmmad
Tour Winner
This new Rules Forum illustrates perfectly how unbelievably complicated the Rules of Golf are........
Agreed, and I'm still none the wiser now.
This new Rules Forum illustrates perfectly how unbelievably complicated the Rules of Golf are........
Mashie, your reading the wrong decision and reading too much into it. 19-1/6 relates to 'on the putting green'
In the instance described in the OP the moving ball was picked up OOB by a dog and deposited back in bounds. The ball is in play. It's a rub of the green.
This new Rules Forum illustrates perfectly how unbelievably complicated the Rules of Golf are........
What surprises me is that someone could envisage this scenario in the first place![]()
mashie, what happens if you hit a shot OB and it bounces back in after hitting atree ? Do you say the ball is OOB ? Do you go back and replay the shot under penalty ? No, it's a rub of the green.
We'll see if Colin or Duncan can clarify but I do think you're still reading too much into 19-1
The difference is a tree is not an outside agency. In my view mashie has got it right.
I was asked a rules question by someone newish to the game, who had asked a few other golfers and could not get a definitive answer.
A ball runs into the OOB and is still running and a Rotweiler picks it up, runs on to the fairway and drops it, can the player play the ball from where it was dropped by the dog?
I said that it should be taken back to where it was last played with a one stroke penalty.
Any help appreciated.
Jezz
If your contacts are asking questions 2 and 3, they are presumably contemplating that the dog's action might be considered deliberate and the Note to 19-1 would be applicable. That would be a matter of saying that a dog doing what dogs do by chasing and picking moving objects up, is performing a "considered" action. Certainly the situation is different from a moving ball simply lodging accidentally in something so clarification will be helpful.
Very interesting one this, which I have spoken to my contacts at The R&A about and they have asked me to get a little bit more info about the incident...
1) Was it actually in a competition?
2) How far OOB was the ball when the dog picked it up?
3) What was the area like where the dog picked up the rolling ball - ie any trees, stumps, bushes, walls or slopes that could possibly have deflected the ball back in bounds before it came to rest?
Duncan, my take on this is:
If the dog picked up the ball, the player should have placed the ball, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where the original ball was when the dog picked it up (Rule 19-1a). Decision 19-1/6
Yes, but as I said above, I don't think a Decision is needed for what is a straightforward application of 19-1a and I'm not sure why we have D19-1/6 other than, in conjunction with D19-1/7, to make the distinction between the procedures for a ball played from off the green and one played from on the green.
The only way I see there being a different ruling is if the dog's action in picking up the ball is considered a deliberate action. If an outside agency deliberately deflects or stops a moving ball, you have to estimate where the ball was likely to have ended up and drop there. If the dog's action is said to be deliberate, then Jezz's contacts are probably asking these questions in order to establish whether there was a possibility that had the ball not been taken by the dog, it might have bounced off something and gone back in bounds.
I'll be surprised* if that is the outcome because the answer in D19-1/6 would be different if the dog's action in picking up the ball were considered deliberate: the answer would then be that the position of the ball had it not been unimpeded should be estimated. I reckon the Decision shows that the dog's action is not contemplated as being deliberate.
*It wouldn't be the first time when it comes to the Rules of Golf.
The decision is there to cover 2 points
1. If the ball is deflected by the dog back into bounds it would be played from where it comes to rest.
2. If the ball is picked up by the dog, as in this case it must be placed at the point where the dog picked it up from. Unfortunately out of bounds.
Points 1 and 2 are, of course, what I have already said would be how to proceed, unless complicated by our R&A friends saying that the dog's actions are deliberate. My point is that 19-1 and 19-1a lead straightforwardly to these rulings. Decisions are not there to simply to say what the rules already say but to interpret and rule on particular situations - in this case on the green which is not the situation described by the OP. What I do draw from them, however, is that the dog's action is not contemplated as deliberate and that this, to be consistent, should be applied to the OP's situation.
Points 1 and 2 are, of course, what I have already said would be how to proceed, unless complicated by our R&A friends saying that the dog's actions are deliberate. My point is that 19-1 and 19-1a lead straightforwardly to these rulings. Decisions are not there to simply to say what the rules already say but to interpret and rule on particular situations - in this case on the green which is not the situation described by the OP. What I do draw from them, however, is that the dog's action is not contemplated as deliberate and that this, to be consistent, should be applied to the OP's situation.