OOB rule

markgs

Tour Rookie
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
1,167
Visit site
What is the rule please, if i drive my ball OOB as there is an area that is roped off due to trees falling. my ball was 1 inch the wrong side of the rope. Do i have to go back to the tee or have a penalty drop 2 clubs out?
 
What is the rule please, if i drive my ball OOB as there is an area that is roped off due to trees falling. my ball was 1 inch the wrong side of the rope. Do i have to go back to the tee or have a penalty drop 2 clubs out?

In course OOB ? Why is it OOB and not GUR ?

Oh and back to the tee
 
Sounds like the committee should perhaps have declared it GUR with entry into and play from within prohibited.
 
OOB is OOB when OOB go back to tee :D

However, it seems like a strange OOB. We had an area on our 18th where a tree branch had fallen from a tree that stood OOB onto the course, the area was declared GUR with play prohibited which seems like a more sensible approach.
 
If a tree near the boundary fence falls over and smashes the boundary fence, then it's quite possible for there to be something indicating where OOB is/was. Of course, it's likely that there would also be GUR marked as well - unless it's not intended to remove anything or it has already been moved.

Nothing like a picture though!
 
Top