No Play Zones

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
17,765
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
A player plays from a NPZ in a GUR area.

Rule 2.4 says we should proceed under Rule 16.1f

16.1f Says the player is penalised the general penalty under rule 14.7a (Playing from the wrong place)

As 16.1f does not say he penalised under rule 14 , is that the end of the ruling or should it be taken further under Rule 14.7b Wrong Place in stroke play?
 
16.1 f tells you that the player has played from a wrong place by playing from a NPZ.
The conditions of 14.7 apply.
14.7a tells you it's the general penalty for having done it.
14.7b tells you how you should proceed ie complete the hole with the ball if having played from there didn't constitute a serious breach, and add 2 strokes in stroke play, or, if serious breach...well the rule explains it all.
 
That was my actual question, it does not say apply 14.7, It says apply 14.7a.


I actually went with applying 14.7b, as that made the most sense, but was having second thoughts .

I'm of the opinion that you're over-thinking it.

16.1f says playing from an NPZ (ie breaching 16.1f) is playing from a wrong place. And 16.1f says the penalty for playing from an NPZ is given in the appropriate rule (about playing from wrong place) which is 14.7a.

Thereafter, because the ball was played from a wrong place, 14.7b will apply and guides what you have to do to put things right (and also the consequences of not putting it right). So yes, the whole of r14 applies.

(Which, if I'm cross referencing properly, is exactly what Duncan said. So sorry for repeating).
 
That was my actual question, it does not say apply 14.7, It says apply 14.7a.


I actually went with applying 14.7b, as that made the most sense, but was having second thoughts .

It actually says that the penalty for playing from a wrong place is the general penalty under 14.7a ie 2 strokes.

14.7b then deals with how the player should proceed after they have applied the penalty. This may lead to an additional penalty for a procedural breach under 14.7b but the penalty for playing from the wrong place doesn't change.
 
Top