New Golfer Questions

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Hi

I have been playing golf for about 4 months now and can't get enough. I start with a set of clubs i borrowed from my brother in law, but as i start to enjoy it more i thought i should buy my own set. Settled on a set of Bruner Superlaunch Steel Irons and a Bruner 09 Driver. Not sure if this was a good buy or not i am getting on great with the iron but the Driver I have a really bad slice with it. Not sure if the equipment is the best for me

I have also started to have lesson we are now on position and swing path which seems to be making my game worse.

I'm not sure wether to look into changing my driver and lose the lesson or not?

Just wondering if this happens to other people?

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Ask your pro if the driver is suited to you.
I suspect it's the swing that's not quite right, rather than the driver.
Stick with the lessons would be my advice
Welcome to the forum btw :)

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I agree with our wise old sage. Let the pro have a look at you hitting a few drives and he'll be able to advise you accordingly. Don't forget its all new to you yet and it will take time to improve. Be patient, practice what you've been shown and enjoy.

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Thank you for the post. I will talk to my pro and see if he can sort it out.

Just seems the lesson are making worse not better is this normal or is it a case of it having to get worse before it gets better

viscount17

Money List Winner
Visit site
fraid so, a lot of what you need to do will feel unnatural and awkward - mostly because it is.

they tell me it wears off after a while and after a few thousand balls you'll wonder what the problem was - then you'll do it again!

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site