• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Mis- identified ball

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
17,772
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
4 ball match Play

2 opponents hit their balls in to the same area. Player A walks to a ball and declares it to be his ball.
Player B is unable to find his ball within the 3 minutes allowed.
Player A plays the ball after the 3 minutes have elapsed

When they reach the green it transpires that the ball Player A hit was in fact player B's ball.

Is player B allowed to proceed 6.3c(2)
(2) What to Do When Player’s Ball Was Played by Another Player as Wrong Ball. If it is known or virtually certain that the player’s ball was played by another player as a wrong ball, the player must replace the original ball or another ball on the original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2).

or should have he identified the ball that Player A declared to be his.
 
I'll probably get this wrong but going to have a punt

Player A has played a wrong ball and is therefore out of the hole

Player B has not found or identified his ball within the 3 minutes and can play from where he last played under penalty.
 
A loses the hole for playing a wrong ball. B was still in the hole when A played his ball since he could have continued playing under stroke and distance - provided he hadn't conceded.

Edit: As Chris said while I was writing.
 
I'll probably get this wrong but going to have a punt

Player A has played a wrong ball and is therefore out of the hole

Player B has not found or identified his ball within the 3 minutes and can play from where he last played under penalty.
Bit harsh on B
He's been given duff information and
 
A loses the hole for playing a wrong ball. B was still in the hole when A played his ball since he could have continued playing under stroke and distance - provided he hadn't conceded.

Edit: As Chris said while I was writing.

This does not actually answer my questions

My questions are about incorrect information from A and if this has any bearing on B's options.
 
If my ball is played by an opponent and I suffer a penalty then that does not seem right.

In the OP scenario Player A might know very well that he has played Player Bs ball. Consider - Player Bs ball might be in a perfect situation for next shot so Player A pretends it is his own and plays it because his own ball is nowhere to be seen and his 4BBB partner (player C) might also have difficulty beating Player B from where player B is lying. Player A is out - played wrong ball. But player C - his partner - now plays Player B who now has a S&D penalty? Doesn't feel right.
 
If my ball is played by an opponent and I suffer a penalty then that does not seem right.

In the OP scenario Player A might know very well that he has played Player Bs ball. Consider - Player Bs ball might be in a perfect situation for next shot so Player A pretends it is his own and plays it because his own ball is nowhere to be seen and his 4BBB partner (player C) might also have difficulty beating Player B from where player B is lying. Player A is out - played wrong ball. But player C - his partner - now plays Player B who now has a S&D penalty? Doesn't feel right.

Deleted - replied to the wrong post doh!
 
If my ball is played by an opponent and I suffer a penalty then that does not seem right.

In the OP scenario Player A might know very well that he has played Player Bs ball. Consider - Player Bs ball might be in a perfect situation for next shot so Player A pretends it is his own and plays it because his own ball is nowhere to be seen and his 4BBB partner (player C) might also have difficulty beating Player B from where player B is lying. Player A is out - played wrong ball. But player C - his partner - now plays Player B who now has a S&D penalty? Doesn't feel right.

You must’ve happened across some right rum characters during your golfing life to think this up. No wonder it matters so much to you where they stand on the tee-box, I'd want eyes on them at all times too! :confused:




:p
 
If my ball is played by an opponent and I suffer a penalty then that does not seem right.

In the OP scenario Player A might know very well that he has played Player Bs ball. Consider - Player Bs ball might be in a perfect situation for next shot so Player A pretends it is his own and plays it because his own ball is nowhere to be seen and his 4BBB partner (player C) might also have difficulty beating Player B from where player B is lying. Player A is out - played wrong ball. But player C - his partner - now plays Player B who now has a S&D penalty? Doesn't feel right.

I dont think it's right to assume deliberate foul play when situations occur in a match and surely the rules are written for normal occurrences
 
You must’ve happened across some right rum characters during your golfing life to think this up. No wonder it matters so much to you where they stand on the tee-box, I'd want eyes on them at all times too! :confused:




:p
It effectively happened to me in a competition some years ago. Foursomes. Blind tee shot. Both tee shots up and over. Our opponents walked to and stood by a ball at the side of the fairway in the first cut rough - we went to the other ball in the middle of the fairway. Us to play first. I looked and at a glance it looked like ours - I hit it onto the green. They looked across from where they were standing by the ball and said 'you've just hit our ball'.

My scenario is just stretching a scenario to see if the ruling given still seemed fair. With my stretch scenario it didn't:)
 
My answer was just to mention each of players A and B's situation at the time, how that affected a 4ball match play wasnt relevant as we didnt know who was partnering who

I took "2 opponents hit their balls in to the same area. " to mean that they were both the opponents of the poster (and so PP to each other). I realise now that it could also mean that they were opponents to each other.
 
It effectively happened to me in a competition some years ago. Foursomes. Blind tee shot. Both tee shots up and over. Our opponents walked to and stood by a ball at the side of the fairway in the first cut rough - we went to the other ball in the middle of the fairway. Us to play first. I looked and at a glance it looked like ours - I hit it onto the green. They looked across from where they were standing by the ball and said 'you've just hit our ball'.

My scenario is just stretching a scenario to see if the ruling given still seemed fair. With my stretch scenario it didn't:)

o_O


And that'd be just about the time I'd concede the match & head to the bar
(although anything can happen, I'd like to think I'd have some idea if my ball was middle of the fairway or first cut :eek:)
 
Top