Michelin starred restaurants in London

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
taking my wife to London for her 30th in December and looking to book somewhere special- any recommendations....

and I know there are tons of excellent non michelin starred restaurants in London as have been many times but I've never tried a michelin starred restaurant before and looking to try something a bit more special. Alain Ducasse and Gordon Ramsay are out as for dinner would be looking at £300+ for the 2 of us.... at a push max I'd want to spend is £200.

User2021

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Dinner by Heston in the Mandarin oriental hotel is an amazing experience.

City Social by Jason Atherton was also brilliant.

Am am booked in to Restaurant Story in a couple of weeks which is supposed to be superb.

ADB

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
How about Galvin at Windows for good views? Personally, i'd go for Kitty Fishers or failing that hunker down at J Sheekey for some amazing seafood.

D

Deleted member 1147

I'm going to Marcus Waring's restaurant at the Berkeley in a couple of weeks - can't wait.

If you are going for dinner at most of the top end restaurants, have the tasting menu with matching wines etc it'll easily set you back £250+ per person. But if you aren;t going the whole hog you should be ok.
Michelin star = premium price, but there are loads of good places otherwise such as Roux at Parliament Square, which I thought was worthy of a star.
The Wolsley is a great experience, like a grand old Vienniese or Parisian cafe, but not exactly top end dining.

With regards London's starred restaurants:
I have been too Murano, Angela Harnett's Italian restaurant, which was probably my 2nd favourite meal so far (after Midsummer House in Cambridge)
Also, Galvin at Windows, which was beautiful, and if you can get a window table the views are amazing.

Remember they also tend to do offers, especially at lunch time which can really keep the price down.

CheltenhamHacker

Journeyman Pro