Match Play Played the wrong Ball

apj0524

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
652
Location
Somerset
Visit site
Advise please, played a pairs Better ball Matchplay today myself and one of my opponents on the fairway with approach shots to the green, we both are playing Callaway balls. He is 1st to play so I pick up and clean what I think is my ball and he plays his shot without picking and cleaning. I play my shot and when I get to the green I notice I have played his ball and he played mine.

So the debate was:

1) He and I are out of the hole as we both played the wrong ball
2) He and and his partner loos the hole as he played the wrong ball 1st
3) The hole is halved as a member from both teams have played the wrong ball.

I think it is the correct ruling is (1)

Thanks
 
The opponent has played a wrong ball but the player has played an incorrectly substituted ball because he lifted his ball and could have identified it while doing so. It is NOT a wrong ball.

Rule 30-3c is the applicable rule.

If a player incurs the loss of hole penalty under Rule 15-3a for making a stroke at a wrong ball, he is disqualified for that hole, but his partner incurs no penalty even if the wrong ball belongs to him. If the wrong ball belongs to another player, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.
 
Last edited:
Oops. The player has actually played from a wrong place rather than having played an incorrectly substituted ball as he would have had to substitute a ball for the one that was played by his opponent. My apologies.
 
Thanks, glad to see we made the right call at the time.

Out of interest if there was not agreement on what the ruling should be, how is it best to proceed with the match
 
Top