Lifting the leading heel

TheClaw

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
What are your thoughts on lifting your heel in the backswing? It's something I don't do but I'm wondering if I would have done it naturally if I hadn't been exposed to the "modern" swing when I started playing.

Ben Hogan-Lifting lead heel

Without properly trying it yet I'm wondering whether it will help maintain the correct spine angle and help to start the downswing from the ground up.

MashieNiblick

Tour Winner
Visit site
I do and it was just something players did when I started learning in the 70s (look at Nickluas, Watson etc). It just happens naturally but I do think it helps me get a good shoulder turn. Did try keping my foot flatter when Faldo and modern plyers made that the norm but it just felt wrong to me.

percy_layer

Challenge Tour Pro
www.davidord.com
By all means try swinging with the lead heal lifting in the backswing, only make sure that replanting the heal is the trigger for the throughswing.

Jack did say in one of his books that his heal comes up because it has to in his swing due to his flexibility and build. He advised to not lift it up for the sake of it, but for it to be pulled to allow the backswing to be completed.

sawtooth

Tour Winner
Visit site
I've read before that lifting the heel is important in order to complete a full turn and like Charlie said plant it back down at the start of the downswing. This "trigger" helps to ensure that you uncoil from the ground up in the downswing, feet first, hips then finally shoulders. The backswing sequence in reverse.

Too often hackers like me start downswings with a turn of the shoulders first whilst the lower body is static and that can only lead to one thing - dragging the club off line, over the top, out to in, etc.

Number one cause for a slice or pull. :(

richart

Major Champion
Visit site