Levv Golf - iphone Launch Monitor

GregKael

Medal Winner
Visit site
I gave it a whirl today, and it seems pretty accurate. Comparing my numbers to a trackman session from a week or so ago they are very similar. (not publishing them as I'm ashamed)

I wouldn't say the app is amazing and it's certainly no Trackman or GC Quad. but to get launch angle, ball speed, spin rate and carry from an iPhone camera it's pretty impressive.

Has anyone else tried it out? Did you find it accurate?

Capella

Journeyman Pro
blog.jutta-jordans.de
If you find anything similar for android I would love to know!

The problem with developing something like that for Android (I am a software developer and have thought about developing a tracking app for a while) is that the quality of cameras varies wildly between different models. With iPhones, you are pretty sure what you get (specifically a high frame rate, which is crucial for accurately tracking the ball), with Android phones, that is a lot rarer. You do get the occaional model which can do super slo-mo, but they are few and far between, even relatively expensive phones are often limited to 50 fps. So it would not be as easy as just translating the app from iPhone to Android (which is normally not that much of a deal), you would also have to limit it to a few specific models of phone, which limits the potential market tremendously. So I understand if companies decide it is not worth it.

BubbaP

Occasional Player of Golf
Visit site
Think you are mixing terms a little. Not every phone on iOS will have the required frame rate surely, so the question would be what market of phones with iOS vs. what market running Android have the frame rate etc. Which might translate to iphone x vs. Note 9 or something.

Back to op, wouldn't expect it to be that accurate.

GregKael

Medal Winner
Visit site
You are right not every iOS phone has a sufficient camera. I think the iPhone 6 is the minimum device.