I played today and..(Rolling) -originally created by JohnnyDee

Played an investigative round at Heythrop Park. Whole game was a bit off which was a shame although did play the same ball all way around ? After finding lots of ways to avoid scoring I did play 3 decent shots towards the old mansion plus 2 putts for a nice closing par in the fading light.
 
Played on roll up this morning. Wind was 15-20mph pushing the ball backwards, sideways and forward. Shot 37 points, 2 flukey birdies. Left a load out there. Came in to win the roll up, and left the medal leaderboard as 3rd or 4th .. but not bothered by that hopefully get a cut.
Strangely I cannot remember hitting any shots flush :(
End result was 3rd in division 4th overall 0.2 cut... very few scores over 35 PST and the css remained at 36... not sure how you can get a proper cut
 
Played today in my monthly comp, 4BB. My partner and I had a great game in really tough conditions (seriously wet and muddy), coming in with 47 points. Pipped to the victory by a friend and his mate who, by all accounts, completely cheated their card.

I've spoken about this friend of mine before and how much he cheats but things are getting worse. He plays off of 9 and his friend today was off of 28. The two guys they were playing alongside said they blobbed at least 3 or 4 holes on the back 9. Even the 28 handicapper was absolutely shocked to hear he won.

So frustrating.
 
Usual roll up. Poured down in Berkshire most of the night and torrential from 3.00-6.00 so only 15 holes open. Only 9 turned up and to be honest the course was borderline unplayable and I've not seen the front nine that wet before. I played reasonably tee to green but for some inexcusable reason, probably after saying last night I'm sticking with one putter and so sewing the seed in my own mind, swapped my milled Odyssey #9 back into the bag. Good from long-mid range putts but I missed five from around 3-4 feet and one even shorter which reminded me why I dropped it. Had 27 points so three over handicap on the truncated course but had I putted better could have really challenged the 32 that won.

Mind you with such a small field and the winner obligated to buy a round it was probably a good week to miss out as there wouldn't have been a huge chunk of cash left after anyway
 
If I could convert my blobs to double or triple bogies that would make a big difference.
Thinking about this some more, do you 'use your shots' or are you going for it?


In today's round I played 1 'perfect' hole. Good drive at 185 yard middle of the fairway, then I had a 210 yard to the green over water situation where I played my 125 yard 8 iron followed by a pin high pitching wedge. I got 'forced' into it because anything more than the 8 would have run into the water which I wouldn't carry in any form.

Other hole (next one actually) I did a little shorter drive into the wind, but as there wasn't anything in the way I hit and topped a 3 wood twice. I could have done 7i, 7i as the clever choice, but I thought what could go wrong and I want to go for it.


My thinking about going for it is that I want to get my handicap down. If I always use my shots I will stay where I am, won't I?
 
Played today in my monthly comp, 4BB. My partner and I had a great game in really tough conditions (seriously wet and muddy), coming in with 47 points. Pipped to the victory by a friend and his mate who, by all accounts, completely cheated their card.

I've spoken about this friend of mine before and how much he cheats but things are getting worse. He plays off of 9 and his friend today was off of 28. The two guys they were playing alongside said they blobbed at least 3 or 4 holes on the back 9. Even the 28 handicapper was absolutely shocked to hear he won.

So frustrating.
How exactly have they cheated? Just writing down bogus scores? Surely someone would have evidence by now if it's a regular thing? I mean, the guys you're playing with are marking your score as well aren't they? If the other two say they blobbed holes then that would be reflected on their card wouldn't it?? I don't get it.
 
Thinking about this some more, do you 'use your shots' or are you going for it?


In today's round I played 1 'perfect' hole. Good drive at 185 yard middle of the fairway, then I had a 210 yard to the green over water situation where I played my 125 yard 8 iron followed by a pin high pitching wedge. I got 'forced' into it because anything more than the 8 would have run into the water which I wouldn't carry in any form.

Other hole (next one actually) I did a little shorter drive into the wind, but as there wasn't anything in the way I hit and topped a 3 wood twice. I could have done 7i, 7i as the clever choice, but I thought what could go wrong and I want to go for it.


My thinking about going for it is that I want to get my handicap down. If I always use my shots I will stay where I am, won't I?
It's not like one rule for all situations. It depends on a lot of factors. Firstly, if you're playing Stableford you may look to go for it a little more, since a disaster hole doesn't wreck the card like a 10 would in medal play. Secondly it depends how much confidence you have in a club and how you're hitting it at that time. Personally I can't hit a 3 wood very consistently, so if I had 210 to the green and trouble right I just wouldn't bother going for that since I know I can slice a 3 wood easily. If the trouble was left and I had a good lie, then maybe I'd be more likely to try it. On other occasions it might be the case that I probably can't reach the green no matter what club I hit - so I'm thinking do I want to risk a long club that I can't hit as well just to leave myself a 20 yard chip? Or do I hit 7 iron and then a 70 yard pitch, which overall is probably less likely to go wrong. You need to assess the situation.
 
Had my second visit to the range on Sunday since stopping over the winter at end of November.

Have been consistently hitting my irons fat since starting to play in the summer so spent some time looking into the reason why, felt i had got the to the bottom of it and wanted to put it into practice.

Hit my first ever pure iron shots, 8 iron 125 yards (90 yards before) and 6 iron 145 yards (110 yards before). it was a great feeling to know i have identified the issue and know how to fix it, just need to get it into my swing consistently as still coming down before the ball more often than not. Also was hitting the pure shots dead straight, actually a hint of hook which is unheard of as have always had a horrendous slice.

Cant wait to get back to the range to keep working on it.

Now i just need to work out how to hit woods and I'm laughing :)
 
Went back to the range to work on the changes mentioned above (shifting weight forward on forward swing), just took the 8 iron and was consistently hitting 125/130 yards and 41 out of 50 straight with no slice. Absolutely buzzing, if i can get that consistency with the rest of my irons then i think i can start really improving my scores. currently shooting around 100 on a par 66.
 
Went back to the range to work on the changes mentioned above (shifting weight forward on forward swing), just took the 8 iron and was consistently hitting 125/130 yards and 41 out of 50 straight with no slice. Absolutely buzzing, if i can get that consistency with the rest of my irons then i think i can start really improving my scores. currently shooting around 100 on a par 66.

Good news that you're making progress but just temper that a tad and remember a range and the course are two different beasts and there is always another range ball and little or no consequence if you mis-hit one
 
lovely afternoon here so went up the Kings with a couple of the boys, drove sheerhite, hit the irons the same and putted badly, but the weather was fantasic best day we have had for a while 12 deg at least, Craic was good so all in all not bad afternoon
 
Was rammel, complete and utter rammel. How can you go from shooting you lowest ever score to being rammel. Flippin game.
 
Played with a couple of mates at a very wet Disley. Temp greens. No counting scores just glad to play. BUT. Played with my new driver. Smashed the ball down the middle EVERY SINGLE TIME. What a pleasure to play. I got so confident that on very shortened par fours I was taking dead aim at flags and driving them. Oh what joy not to see my ball zoom left and then have to pray it comes back to land somewhere on the fairway.

GET FITTED AND TRUST THE STATS OF THE MACHINE !!!!!!!!!

New driver is a Callaway XR Speed. Ladies flex set at +2 draw. Roll on summer !!!!!!!
 
How exactly have they cheated? Just writing down bogus scores? Surely someone would have evidence by now if it's a regular thing? I mean, the guys you're playing with are marking your score as well aren't they? If the other two say they blobbed holes then that would be reflected on their card wouldn't it?? I don't get it.

In this 4BB comp, each team is marking their own card - which is unfortunate.

The lad in question is the one that organises the summer comps and he always puts himself with people that aren't going to be concentrating on what he's doing or, generally speaking, don't know how to score stableford, so he'll tell them he's scored a 4 for 3 and they won't question it because they don't know any different.

We all know he cheats but it's unfortunately not happened when he's played with someone that will call him out on it. When I've played with him he, funnily enough, has a stinker. Last year we played 8 times and he didn't score under 35 points and he's won the order of merit 3 times in a row....
 
Played in our Thursday 9-hole comp today - mainly as a distraction from a horrendous workload
24 points - with 5 pars - and a double (and a cut) :p
Best 9 i've played in or out of competition here
Roll on Sunday's 18 hole comp where no doubt there shall be trebles galore!
 
Had a day trip to Southport & Ainsdale, good friendly staff, pro, nice clubhouse, price and members.

Got 6 pars and a birdie, but tbh was just pants for the rest(lost 4 balls), worse round since H4H, but what a cracking winters day, glorious sunshine, 8 degrees and no wind for the whole round, lovely time.

Course wise was good, some cracking holes in there, didn't quite light my fire like Formby/Birkdale did, but I am being picky and still really enjoyed it. A good winter rate was given by the club, thanks club. Cant wait to play Hillside to compare to them.
 
Gorgeous morning for golf. I was a machine for the last three holes. Rammel for the other 15.

Yesterday I played two holes with me PP bats. Me old PP played his first 9 holes since nov. His wife had a massive stroke on Dec 1st. It was good to get out and chew the cud like the old days. He needed it. Had a good catch up in the 19th.
 
Played Conwy on a reciprocal with our Pro and had a cracking day despite greens being sanded which made putting interesting , course in very good nick . Must play it more often , well worth the 1 hr 50 drive .
 
Top