I played with 2 new people who were both on the green. They putted out and left both balls in the hole. I thought this was a penalty. Is this now allowed?
There is nothing wrong with that and to the best of my knowledge (40 years of playing) there never has been.
It saves wear and tear around the hole and tests have shown that there can be 3 balls in the hole and there is no chance of the 4th bouncing out.
It is something I do often but there are some players that insist the ball is taken out before they putt (probably some sort of mental block they have).
I always try and apply some logic to the rules - not always easy - and in this instance I just think of what would happen if the first guy in a 3 ball hit a hole in one.
it would be senseless for him to have to walk up to 250 yards to take his ball out before the others tee’d off.