Hitting two balls out of bounds

daveindales

New member
Joined
Aug 8, 2020
Messages
2
Visit site
Whilst playing with a group of mates, one of them hit a ball out of bounds. He then played 3 off the tee and hit the second out of bounds in the same place. Going up to where they went out of bounds, he announced he was going to play stroke and distance, and play his 4th shot from where he lost his first ball. Now, i'm sure this is not right and he should be playing his 6th, I think. But, under what rule does this occur?. Can't seem to find out
 

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
1,953
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Mainly because it does't exist!

If his first went OOB and he played another without declaring it a provisional he had played 3. If that goes OOB as well his only option is to go back to the tee and play 5.

The only exception to this is if the club or competition has implemented the local rule regarding lost / OOB shots where he could drop a ball on an arc back to the fairway from the point it went OOB, no nearer the hole, and play his next shot as 4. This isn't approved by CONGU for a competition and from casual observation is pretty rare.
 

Maninblack4612

Tour Winner
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
5,792
Location
South Shields
www.camera-angles.co.uk
Mainly because it does't exist!

If his first went OOB and he played another without declaring it a provisional he had played 3. If that goes OOB as well his only option is to go back to the tee and play 5.

The only exception to this is if the club or competition has implemented the local rule regarding lost / OOB shots where he could drop a ball on an arc back to the fairway from the point it went OOB, no nearer the hole, and play his next shot as 4. This isn't approved by CONGU for a competition and from casual observation is pretty rare.

This is wrong. He hit two out of Bounds so his next shot is 6
 

Swinglowandslow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
2,724
Visit site
Mainly because it does't exist!

If his first went OOB and he played another without declaring it a provisional he had played 3. If that goes OOB as well his only option is to go back to the tee and play 5.

The only exception to this is if the club or competition has implemented the local rule regarding lost / OOB shots where he could drop a ball on an arc back to the fairway from the point it went OOB, no nearer the hole, and play his next shot as 4. This isn't approved by CONGU for a competition and from casual observation is pretty rare.

What you say may be ambiguous, but on the face of it, it is wrong.
If he walked to where the first one went oob and implemented the local rule, then he's playing 4
Because he played three off the tee, then that second ball was in play soon as he hit it. So he is taking stroke and distance off that one.
So, he is playing 6.

If he declared the second off the tee as a provisional , and it didn't "work out", I don't see how he can abandon the provisional as if it had never happened and then walk up to where the first went oob and then claim to be playing 4.
Which is how what you wrote in the last paragraph could be read?
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
5,292
Location
Edinburgh
Visit site
The OP said the player put his tee shot out of bounds. I'm taking that to mean that it was known definitely to be out of bounds.
After his first shot, he had the option of stroke and distance, playing his 3rd shot, or of going forward and using the Local Rule, playing his 4th shot from the fairway.
He opted for stroke and distance and put his 3rd shot out of bounds. He then had the same option of stroke and distance playing his 5th shot or of going forward and using the Local Rule, playing his 6th shot from the fairway.

He did not have the option of playing a provisional for either ball as the originals were known to be out of bounds.
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
25,829
Location
Watford
Visit site
I should have explained. We use the new local rule. So, he may have been right playing 4 ?
He should have done that after the first tee shot then. If you two provisionals and they both finish out of bounds you can't just say one of them didn't count. Otherwise you could just hit three more provisionals and pick the best one? :LOL:
 

Diamond

Active member
Joined
Dec 12, 2019
Messages
691
Visit site
Again a great way to over complicate a fantastic sport. Matchplay you lose the hole, stableford you get a blob and Medal just take a drop a yard into the fairway. Quicker fairer and less stress. Everyone is off the tee and marching forward And slow players finish quicker and are complaining that the better players are slowing them down. Who can do 18 holes in 2 hours.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
14,968
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
Medal just take a drop a yard into the fairway. .

Therein lies the problem.

The allowable LR allows a drop on the nearest part of the fairway not closer to the hole.

So if you go OB one place on a hole where there is no fairway closer to the hole it is one rule to be followed and if there is it is another.

I can just imagine how many players would ignore the nearest part of the fairway not closer.

So the easy way not to complicate a fantastic sport is not to have the rule in the first place.

PS why would you want to lose a hole in Match Play or blob in S'Ford particularly when you may have 3 or shots allowance on a hole?
 
Top