Davey247
Assistant Pro
Had an incident earlier this year in matchplay which we decided would go unpunished because we didn't know the ruling.
I was in a bunker, steadying my feet and waving my club about in a semi back swing practice kinda way and the club head hit the face of the bunker - not sand, but a vertical mud face.
I know that the club touch the sand is a penalty stroke, but there was no sand where I hit the bunker face. It also wasn't in an attempt to play the ball that I hit the face.
We tied the hole and I lost by 1 so it didn't effect the outcome, but the pro in the shop couldn't find any sort of ruling for this either.
What do you folks think?? Is there a rule that this would come under?
I was in a bunker, steadying my feet and waving my club about in a semi back swing practice kinda way and the club head hit the face of the bunker - not sand, but a vertical mud face.
I know that the club touch the sand is a penalty stroke, but there was no sand where I hit the bunker face. It also wasn't in an attempt to play the ball that I hit the face.
We tied the hole and I lost by 1 so it didn't effect the outcome, but the pro in the shop couldn't find any sort of ruling for this either.
What do you folks think?? Is there a rule that this would come under?