Golf ball Visibility

cunnini

Visit site
I started playing again last winter. Our club has lots of deciduous tree lined fairways which over the next weeks/months will shed their leaves - the club once a week 'hoovers' them up, but I'm thinking how best to identify my ball in amongst the leaves n between times - does anyone play a different coloured/marked ball for this type of scenario and what do you think would be easier to find?

thanks in advance

timd77

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Personally I find a white ball easiest to find in just about any circumstances other than Frost/Snow.
Yep, me too. I tried playing with yellow or orange balls during the autumn, they were harder to spot than white balls as there aren’t many white leaves, but plenty of yellowy orangey leaves.

Orange on frosty days where the sun’s low and the leaves have gone.

Ooh, all this talk of frost has nearly made me want this heatwave to bugger off!

Jigger

Club Champion
Visit site
Is your eye preference but I think you’ll find most comments say white. Other colours of marked balls tend to camouflage more in my experience. The only one I will be try is the seed yellow balls as they are REALLY bright yellow.

Best bet is to use a cheaper ball if you are worried about losing loads or if it’s penalties that worry you, try to play the course more cautiously. Easier said than done I know.

nickjdavis

Head Pro
Visit site
I played a course near me a couple of years ago. Was half way up the first when a bloke appeared from the 18th fairway (opposite direction) asking me if I'd seen a ball....a green ball !!!!

Funnily enough I spotted it about 50 yards further up (so shorter than where he thought it was) and it was quite visible against the grass.

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
I played a course near me a couple of years ago. Was half way up the first when a bloke appeared from the 18th fairway (opposite direction) asking me if I'd seen a ball....a green ball !!!!