Getting distance on bunker shots?

Beezerk

Money List Winner
Visit site
Does anyone have any decent tips or videos for this?
Really struggle to get any reasonable distance from the sand, I always seem to flop them out which leaves the ball well short so it's something I need to work on but I'm not sure where to start. I usually tend to aim an inch or so behind the ball but that's about as far as my knowledge goes unfortunately.

chellie

Tour Winner
Visit site
Will watch this for replies as I was going to ask this today. HID reckons that I've no strength to do it:eek:

dontfancythisputt

Club Champion
Visit site
Im no expert but I struggled with judgement when trying to vary the amount of sand to take. For me I get most consistent results from varying the club from 60º up to 9 iron and using full or 3/4 swings. If I then always take the same amount of sand (about two inch) this gives me 8 distances up to about 40 yards which is all I need at the moment.

For really accurate bunker play I guess its all about practice.

Fairway bunkers, more club and no sand before the ball.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
If greenside likely that you could be a good ways to steep into the sand, maybe mostly only using a arm swing.
All good bunker players have a shallow swing under the ball as a general rule for a normal kind of lie in the sand

Normal lie greenside bunker whatever distance (assuming a decent set-up) you really need a shallow swing, taking a money note size thin sand divot which the ball just comes out on. One of the few shots that allows some margin of error as you don't have to find solid contact on the back of the ball)

So set up pretty crucial, little wider stance as that encourages a shallow swing arc (narrow stance too much weight left will tend to favor a steep approach presenting the leading edge which then just digs in little forward momentum in swing, ball goes nowhere)