Free drop or not

1/

I imagine that for the original post it is a few meters of this :
View attachment 13671 with a slope of about 5% of the gras.

This is a water hazard?



2/

I don't have a picture of it on my course but it is the same as this one except that the tarmac is gras and the slope is about 5%. (And without a border like on the right on the picture.)
View attachment 13670

No locale rule about it on my home course.

We'd need to hear from the OP exactly what he is referring to, but neither of your pictures shows a water hazard since in both instances, the drains are covered. They are obstructions. If the drain cover in the second picture were as shown on a roadway as opposed to your one on grass, it would simply be part of the roadway which is itself an obstruction. By the way, there is no need for a local rule defining an object as an obstruction when it meets the Definition of one.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Colin re the two pictures.

Without the grating cover, the 1st would be a water hazard and an obstruction.

Incidentally, you can't declare something to be an obstruction if it doesn't match the definition. But you can declare an obstruction to be an integral part of the course, removing its status as an obstruction.
 
Last edited:
Hi all, the ditch/storm drain in the op is just a man made trench. Roughly 12" wide and 18" deep. Just full of grass, leave ect but no water. Totally uncovered.

So from reading previous posts, I'm seeing it as an unmarked water hazard (poor form from the course) and the result being a one shot penalty, two clubs lengths no nearer.

many thanks for all replies, I'm with the group later so will let them know, it'll be like throwing a grenede in I reckon... :whistle:
 
Hi all, the ditch/storm drain in the op is just a man made trench. Roughly 12" wide and 18" deep. Just full of grass, leave ect but no water. Totally uncovered.

So from reading previous posts, I'm seeing it as an unmarked water hazard (poor form from the course) and the result being a one shot penalty, two clubs lengths no nearer.

many thanks for all replies, I'm with the group later so will let them know, it'll be like throwing a grenede in I reckon... :whistle:

So its just a drainage ditch then...?
 
1/

I imagine that for the original post it is a few meters of this :
View attachment 13671 with a slope of about 5% of the gras.

This is a water hazard?



2/

I don't have a picture of it on my course but it is the same as this one except that the tarmac is gras and the slope is about 5%. (And without a border like on the right on the picture.)
View attachment 13670

No locale rule about it on my home course.

Ah! There's where the confusion lies - and clarified by the picture!

A Drain Cover is not a Drain. And, as a Immovable Obstruction, free relief is available. The unmarked trench in the OP is (still) a lateral water hazard.
 
English is not my native language. So I google some words. That's the confusion. I don't get slight variations of meaning. But I still learned a lot from it. I have to study also the definitions more. After reading them carefully I now know that water must not be declared as such. It was all in the definition.
 
Top