Fault Finding - Current Golf Swing

Richegroover

Visit site
Hello everyone,

Read the magazine quite regularly but never thought to post on the website until a friend suggested it.

It's my first year playing golf properly, given the decent summer we have had I haven't put much stock in practicing down the local range, although I've managed to drop a few points on my handicap through the summer months I've figured the winter would be a great time to really get to grips with specific problems with my game.

Took this rather sketchy video footage of my swing last night:

Golf Swing

I hadn't noticed on the course (that much) but it was clear down the range that I must be hitting way down on the ball as I was hammering the mat. Trouble is at the moment its hard, as a beginner to identify what the root causes might be.

It's clear that I'm swinging the iron back way too far from what I've been advised previously but can anyone else see any major floors in the swing? I'm sure you'll recognize a few!

One thing I have also noted is that whereas when starting I had a slice, the majority of my off shots now tend to go left, so I'm missing mainly in the same area, just need to find out what that is!

Any advice/assistance appreciated - I can take it back to the range next week and see if an improvement is noticeable. :)

Many thanks in advance.

Riche

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Richie, welcome to the forum.
Firstly, I've seen alot worse :)
Have you checked your grip.
It may be a little strong, hard to tell from your video but lots of good things in your swing. :D

Richegroover

Visit site
Firstly, thank you to all for the responses, really appreciate them.

I'll be sure to check on my grip, I've got a training grip so hopefully that is something I can get sorted. It's not an element of the setup I've looked at too much this far so it is definitely something I'll be checking out next week on the range...