Fat Shot Woes

Sultana

Club Champion
Visit site
Only in my first 6 months of playing golf and I've had a block of lessons to aid my learning curve, but none of them can help me with my current problem.

Playing on a sodden golf course as many probably are at this time of year. Iron shots off the fairway, I'm taking a divot, but my ball only moves about 20 yards, I've tried moving the ball forward in my stance as explained in the latest Golf Monthly magazine, but I'm still hitting about half a dozen of these shots per round, which is obviously raising my score. How can I counter this happening on wet courses?

chris661

Money List Winner
Visit site
I tend to hit a fat shot if I leave my weight hanging back, as long as I get it moving to my front foot again it is all ok, maybe this will help but hopefully a know it all expert will be along ;) ;)

GeneralStore

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I am no expert, but I am posting because from time to time I have a similar issue. As Chris said, your weight is behind the ball. As a rule, wherever your club makes contact with the ground is where your weight is.

In the dry months or on the range you can sometimes get away with it or it can sometimes not be as noticable because of your club bouncing off the ground/matt.

Moving the ball back in your stance can help, but obviously the correct answer is to get to the correct impact position. There are a few little tips to get the feeling for this:
1) Start your backswing with a slight bump of the hips towards the right (if you are right handed), it will get your hips and weight further back and make you then be more aggressive with the weight shift going forward
2) At the range, start in a normal stance and then on your backswing step with your left foot and put it next to your right and then on the downswing step again with your left foot and put it back into its correct position to start your downswing. Its a good drill to get an exaggerated feel for the weight shift