Everybody has to start somewhere....

JayPR

Visit site
How did you take up golf, how did you learn and when did you get to the stage where you thought...yeah, I can do this!

One of the best parts of this forum is reading people’s stories.

So as a newbie, I would love to hear your starter stories!

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
An uncle (in Edinburgh) offered to introduce me to the game and invited me up for a crash week, gave me a few clubs and many rounds later I was hooked (well the first round had me really)

Birdie2

Club Champion
Visit site
I'd always wanted to play but never really got round to it because of my football commitments. Took a head injury in a match and never went back to it. Funnily enough, I picked up a copy of Golf Monthly at the airport on the way to a week away with the Mrs. I read it cover to cover twice and as soon as I landed had booked myself some lessons. Borrowed some clubs to get me started and have never looked back!! I'm now a bit obsessed with the game 😂

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
Played club hockey for many years. A combination of a bad knee and a young family meant the time was right to pack that in but I wanted to do some form of sport / social activity still. My in laws all played golf so I thought I'd give it a go.................

PJ87

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I had some lessons when I was young (think 11-12) with a local pro at my dads course .. think dad wanted me to get into it. Played until I was 16 (poorly) then broke my Arm. After I came back I was driving now so me and a mate set off for a course , I hit one shot shooting pains through my previously pinned elbow and didn’t play again until I was 25.