E Bay - a warning

Maninblack4612

Tour Winner
www.camera-angles.co.uk
Having recently retired as a photographer I sold 3 lenses & 2 camera bodies on E Bay. I used E Bay Packlink (a.k.a. My Herpes) to send the items. I dropped the parcels off at my local shop last Sunday & they were collected by the courier on Monday. All the items have been delivered, the three boxes containing the lenses arrived empty. One was opened in front of the staff of Sainsbury's, where it had been sent for collection so there's no question of anyone trying it on.

It is obvious that the items have been stolen by Hermes. The thief has been clever. He, or she, has stolen three items from the same seller, casting doubt on whether the parcels were empty when deposited. Also, the lenses were relatively light so the fact that they weren't in the boxes wasn't too obvious.

The moral is, don't send multiple items at the same time. You may say, also, don't use Hermes, but other carriers lose stuff too & at least, this way, the problem is 100% for E Bay to solve.

Speaking to E Bay, the procedure to follow is:
1 - buyer reports matter to police
2 - buyer claims a refund from me
3 - I refuse refund
4 - after 8 days buyer escalates the matter with E Bay, who, only then, start an investigation. I asked E Bay why they couldn't go straight to the investigation & the reply was that there's no means of doing this - unbelievable.

Watch this space. I don't expect to lose any money & I'm sure the buyers will be refunded. I think E Bay will just absorb the loss. I was on the other end of a similar situation a while ago. Got my money back but I'm sure the buyer wasn't made to refund. I suppose E Bay is so profitable it doesn't matter.

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site
Well, it was delivered to Sainsbury's & I can take his word for it in view of the fact that the same thing has happened in Sheffield & Peterbrough. Would have to be a big conspiracy if it was the buyers.