Drop from a flooded bunker - unfair rule?

Yes, but that is a rub of the green with no casual water involved. The rule I proposed would limit you to dropping within one clublength of the nearest point of complete or maximum relief from casual water within the bunker, but would remove the not 'nearer the hole' requirement in bunkers only.

Going in a flooded bunker and not being able to take NPR is also rub of the green, there is no difference between my scenario and yours in that sense.
 
I think that the Anaconda bunker at Chart Hills is one that led to the rule change of being allowed to tidy a bunker even if you're still in it!
 
Going in a flooded bunker and not being able to take NPR is also rub of the green, there is no difference between my scenario and yours in that sense.

Yes, but I can deal with plugged lies, balls in foot prints and most of the other rub of the green (or should it be sand?) scenarios. At least I have some chance of getting the ball out and onto the green with my next shot. Being forced to to take a penalty drop out of the bunker because of casual water somehow seems unfair, plus I will usually be left with a tricky pitch shot over the bunker!
 
Last edited:
Yes, but I can deal with plugged lies, balls in foot prints and most of the other rub of the green scenarios. At least I have some chance of getting the ball out and onto the green with my next shot. Being forced to to take a penalty drop out of the bunker because of casual water somehow seems unfair, plus I will usually be left with a tricky pitch shot over the bunker!

You could play it as it lies, you don't have to take a penalty.
 
That's only about an inch of water, nothing like as deep as my shot would have been!

You are still not forced to take a penalty, that is your choice.

And the guy in the video is ankle deep in water so a bit deeper than an inch.
 
You are still not forced to take a penalty, that is your choice.

And the guy in the video is ankle deep in water so a bit deeper than an inch.

The ball doesn't seem to be lying that badly though. It's a shot I might take on. In the bunker I was in the water would have been half way up my shins and the ball was under about 2 feet of water. Pretty much impossible I would think!
 
The ball doesn't seem to be lying that badly though. It's a shot I might take on. In the bunker I was in the water would have been half way up my shins and the ball was under about 2 feet of water. Pretty much impossible I would think!

You can still try or take a penalty, your decision. No forcing involved.
 
The ball doesn't seem to be lying that badly though. It's a shot I might take on. In the bunker I was in the water would have been half way up my shins and the ball was under about 2 feet of water. Pretty much impossible I would think!

If you have 2 feet of water in your bunkers, you should be questioning your committee, not the rules. Besides, the rest of your course must be a right mess
 
I think Hawkeye is really getting to the nub of this. The Rules do provide for a fair outcome by enabling the committee to declare a bunker GUR if it is flooded. Before play someone should go round and do this to any bunker where it would not be possible to take relief from any casual water NNTH.

No need to change the Rules, which as the discussion above has highlighted, would be difficult anyway.
 
In the bunker I was in the water would have been half way up my shins and the ball was under about 2 feet of water. Pretty much impossible I would think!


We seem to be losing sight of the facts on this one

A bunkers is a hazard. On most hazards on the course that you go in, there is a possibility that you can play your ball without being penalised, but, there is a good chance you will attract a penalty because, say, your ball didn't sit on the bank of the stream but went in the water. That, along with wet bunkers really is just the rub of the green and that's the way that it should be, you're not expected to have a ball in a hazard and be presented always with a surefire easy way out
 
I'm surprised you're still fighting this delc. In your situation the rules say if you drop outside you have to take a penalty. They also allow your committee to declare the bunker GUR in the first place, so it isn't really the rules penalising you more the poor management of the course conditions. You can also as has been stated try to take the shot on, even though it might be virtually impossible.

You can also look at it on the flip side with water hazards that are supposed to have water in. Say you had gone into a water hazard where the water had receded due to evaporation. In this instance you get the rub of the green on a positive side as although it is a water hazard it is still able to be played so you don't drop a shot. In reality in this instance the fair and proper way is to say, you're in the water hazard, therefore a shot dropped and you have to drop outside, but you don't hear people advocating that rule change.
 
Yes, but I can deal with plugged lies, balls in foot prints and most of the other rub of the green (or should it be sand?) scenarios. At least I have some chance of getting the ball out and onto the green with my next shot. Being forced to to take a penalty drop out of the bunker because of casual water somehow seems unfair, plus I will usually be left with a tricky pitch shot over the bunker!

Like everyone keeps telling you if the water is such that it makes it impossible to take a drop within, get the committee to inspect and declare the particular bunkers GUR, Until then deal with it like the rest of us have accepted to and understand that we may have to take a penalty.

No matter how much you go on about it without telling us the result of a conversation you have with either a) the R&A or b) your committee you're just going to keep claiming to be hard done by. Just accept what is...Is
 
Being forced to to take a penalty drop out of the bunker because of casual water somehow seems unfair, plus I will usually be left with a tricky pitch shot over the bunker

You might not have a tricky shot. You might be able to drop on to a decent lie far enough back to have a full wedge shot - which might be easier. I would certainly want to go far enough back to ensure I was hitting the ball reasonably firmly and lessening the risk of that stupid fluff back into the bunker which I am rather good at.
 
My only advice on this issue is to stay out the feckin bunkers :whoo::whistle:
 
If the bunker is 2ft deep in water and the course is still playable then your green staff should be addressing the drainage situation in that bunker.

If its just that one trap flooding, filling it in may be a better option.....then, if the area still floods, you can have your casual water relief!!
 
If the bunker is 2ft deep in water and the course is still playable then your green staff should be addressing the drainage situation in that bunker.

If its just that one trap flooding, filling it in may be a better option.....then, if the area still floods, you can have your casual water relief!!

I don't think that's always the case, water tables are so high currently that bunkers can be full of water and the rest of the course perfectly playable, especially on clay parkland courses. When I played Formby, a fantastic links course, the majority of their bunkers were full of water yet their course was amazing!

Its just one of those things IMO which we just accept and work with, within the rules.
 
Top