Downswing for driver

pokerjoke

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hi all,
Finally ive decided to invest in a driver.
For the last 2 years I have played without one,however I just purchased
a Ping G5 for £15 and im giving it a go.
I was up the range this morning and I was getting some indifferent results.
One thing I have been trying is to get my right hand close to my hip as I come
down and through the ball.
Is this what im looking for in the downswing.

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I'm no expert, but until one comes along I'd say more like your right elbow close to your hip rather than right hand.

Let the club start the downswing as if it's falling under it's own weight for a split second before you accelerate into the ball.

When you pick your target, also pick a distance you're trying to hit the ball. A lot of problems with the driver imo are because it "has to go as far as possible".
Pick a target at a distance you'd be happy with, and quite often it will go further because you aren't trying to kill the ball.

Keep your head behind the ball.

That's my tuppence worth. Good luck Tony :thup:

pokerjoke

Money List Winner
Visit site
I'm no expert, but until one comes along I'd say more like your right elbow close to your hip rather than right hand.

Let the club start the downswing as if it's falling under it's own weight for a split second before you accelerate into the ball.

When you pick your target, also pick a distance you're trying to hit the ball. A lot of problems with the driver imo are because it "has to go as far as possible".
Pick a target at a distance you'd be happy with, and quite often it will go further because you aren't trying to kill the ball.

Keep your head behind the ball.

That's my tuppence worth. Good luck Tony :thup:

Thx Gaz sorry did me elbow,just tried the hand[it hit my hip,lol.
Thx for the tip

D

Deleted Member 1156