Does the person marking your card have to be on the course for the full 18 holes

I think you are taking the word accompany out of its context in Decision 6-6a/2 and misapplying it to the admittedly odd situation under discussion. The Decision is about a marker who disappears the scene for 3 holes and we are told that's not on, the marker should accompany, should be with the player. It does not and cannot imply that the marker must observe every stroke, for in a normal game of golf, if the marker is a fellow competitor it is just not feasible. It just means the marker has to be there sufficiently throughout the whole round to attest the player's score. The marker who sits at the clubhouse window and watches each of the last strokes of the player's round is as much with the player and probably more attentive than he would be on the course as he would not be having to think about how to get out of a bunker or whatever. He is in now in the same position as the marker who bunks off for 3 holes!

Unfortunately, the question you've sent to the USGA isn't like to give you a precise answer to this situation: it would need to be more specific.
 
Thanks all for the varied and interesting replies. The question was nothing to do with whether play had been suspended or not due to the weather conditions, it was solely to do with whether the marker should have returned to the course itself with his partner or not.
As an observer at the time it seemed perfectly ok, after all the guy who went back out was only about 50 or 60 meters away and clearly in our sight the whole time he played his last couple of shots, but it was just one of those slightly curious situations that occasionally happen. Nothing in the replies suggests that either player had contravened any rules. Thanks again.
 
I think you are taking the word accompany out of its context in Decision 6-6a/2 and misapplying it to the admittedly odd situation under discussion. The Decision is about a marker who disappears the scene for 3 holes and we are told that's not on, the marker should accompany, should be with the player. It does not and cannot imply that the marker must observe every stroke, for in a normal game of golf, if the marker is a fellow competitor it is just not feasible. It just means the marker has to be there sufficiently throughout the whole round to attest the player's score. The marker who sits at the clubhouse window and watches each of the last strokes of the player's round is as much with the player and probably more attentive than he would be on the course as he would not be having to think about how to get out of a bunker or whatever. He is in now in the same position as the marker who bunks off for 3 holes!

Sorry for lack of proofreading: that should have read He is not in the same position as the marker who bunks off for 3 holes.
 
Thanks all for the varied and interesting replies. The question was nothing to do with whether play had been suspended or not due to the weather conditions, it was solely to do with whether the marker should have returned to the course itself with his partner or not.
As an observer at the time it seemed perfectly ok, after all the guy who went back out was only about 50 or 60 meters away and clearly in our sight the whole time he played his last couple of shots, but it was just one of those slightly curious situations that occasionally happen. Nothing in the replies suggests that either player had contravened any rules. Thanks again.

I appreciate your original question was only in relation to the marker going back out ,

Not so sure they hadnt contravened any rules tho , even tho you mention in your post that the question was not in relation to whether play had suspended or not ,IMO it does become relevant here

i dont think players can take it upon themselves to suspend play and walk in , then return to the course when it suits them , so i THINK they may have broken a rule there .. therefore they technically scratched or NR on the last so if they handed in a score for that hole they should be DQ'd, just a thought ,

im sure i will be corrected if im wrong
 
I appreciate your original question was only in relation to the marker going back out ,

Not so sure they hadnt contravened any rules tho , even tho you mention in your post that the question was not in relation to whether play had suspended or not ,IMO it does become relevant here

i dont think players can take it upon themselves to suspend play and walk in , then return to the course when it suits them , so i THINK they may have broken a rule there .. therefore they technically scratched or NR on the last so if they handed in a score for that hole they should be DQ'd, just a thought ,

im sure i will be corrected if im wrong

I think Post 4 covers your query.
 
The usga replied and agreed with me that "accompany" means the marker is to go along with the player throughout the round. Observing from the clubhouse does not satisfy that requirement, they said.
 
Unfortunately, the question you've sent to the USGA isn't like to give you a precise answer to this situation: it would need to be more specific.

Did the USGA answer actually make any specific mention of the marker observing the last few strokes from the clubhouse, having been playing the whole round with the competitor up to that point? I didn't see any mention of that in your question.
 
I quoted the decision and asked this question.

Does “accompany” mean the marker must be in the presence of the player or can he observe his play from elsewhere, for example the clubhouse or somewhere else viewing through binoculars?


The reply included stating that observing from the clubhouse with binoculars did not satisfy the rule. I did not ask the specific point you mention but the decision has such facts.
 
Top