Do i need new clubs?

benjamin

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi all, first post here.

I started playing golf around 5 years ago for 2 years and got to about 16/18 handicap, had a break for the last few years and started again this week....cant believe how alien everything felt! Anyway i played the last 4 days running and hit 105, 99, 96, 92 on our local Muni (71 par).

Sorry if im waffling here but trying to give as much info as possible.

My kit at present is Titleist 905T Driver, Taylor Made Burner 3W, Wilson Deep Red 3-SW fatshaft Irons, Cleveland 52deg wedge howson 60deg wedge.

My good friend who got me started with golf and taught me what i know now plays off around 8/10 is saying that i need better irons at this stage of my golf as the wilsons i have will be holding me back....im not so sure and would love some opinions from you guys where my irons stand so to speak with regards to handicap, i'm guessing in a few weeks time i will be playing off around 18 the way i am picking it back up, so do i need to change my clubs at that standard or will they see me down to low teens or beyond handicap wise?

I was leaning towards agreeing with him but after reading what i can find on tinternet about the deep reds i am not so sure.

Any thoughts welcomed

Thanks in advance

Ben

The19thHole

Head Pro
Visit site
Hi Ben and welcome.

Perhaps you do need new clubs. Maybe getting a custom fitted new set could tell you a bit more about your swing and game as well ie. swing speed, club head speed and spin etc.

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
My good friend who got me started with golf and taught me what i know now plays off around 8/10 is saying that i need better irons at this stage of my golf as the wilsons i have will be holding me back

I don't agree. I knew a lad a few years ago who used these down to 4. If they have shortened or ladies shafts or something, then yes.

In fact, I'd go further and say a nice set of forgiving irons like this would be ideal.